How do I use this archive?

Simply choose a country and look how a certain team or teams from a certain country played against teams from this country. For example, if you want to know how Real Madrid played against German teams, simply choose "Germany", search in this file for the teams from "Spain" where you will find Real Madrid.
If a question mark is shown instead a result, the match hasn't yet been played.

How are the teams assigned to the countries?

In general, the teams are assigned to the countries in whose contests they qualified for the European cups. Due to the political changes - mainly in eastern Europe - the assignment of some teams has changed through the years.
Germany: In the season 1990/91 both German countries (resp. associations) still organised divided contest. Therefore the teams in the EC-season 1991/92 (which qualified in 1990/91) were listed as teams from the "GDR" or "FRG". In the season 1991/92 the contests were united and the German teams are listed as teams from "Germany".
Saar: Until January 1st 1957 the Saar was an independent country. During the season 1955/56 the 1.FC Saarbrücken took part in the Champions’ Cup. This was the only time a team from the Saar took part in the European cups.
Czechoslovakia: During the season 1992/93 the already divided Czech and Slovakian Republics still organised an united championship. So during the season 1993/94 the teams from Slovakia and the Czech Republic who took part in the Champions’ Cup and the UEFA Cup are listed as teams from "Czechoslovakia". Because the two countries in 1992/93 already organised their own Cup contests teams from these countries who took part in the Cup Winners Cup 1993/94 are already listed as teams from "Slovakia" or the "Czech Republic". From the season 1993/94 all contests in these two countries were divided and starting from the season 1994/95 all teams from these countries were listed as teams from "Slovakia" or the "Czech Republic".
Yugoslavia: 1991/92 was the last season, all teams from the former Yugoslavian countries (Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, FYR Macedonia, Slovenia, and the FR Yugoslavia) qualified for in united contest. Starting from the season 1992/93 these teams were listed for the different associations. To point out the difference: until the season 1991/92 these teams are listed as teams from "Yugoslavia". Starting from the season 1995/96 teams from Serbia and Montenegro took part as teams from the "Federal Republic Yugoslavia". These teams are listed as teams from the "FR Yugoslavia"
USSR: 1991/92 was the last season when all teams from the former soviet countries (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Estonia, Georgia, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, Russia and Ukraine) qualified in united contest. Starting from the season 1992/93 these teams were listed for the associations.
General remark: If there a year is indicated, until when or from when an association took part, it is the year from when or until when these association took part in the European competitions in general. But it is not the year when its teams first played against teams from the specific country. I only did this for the countries that were objects of changes (Germany, Czechoslovakia, USSR, Yugoslavia and their predecessors or successors).

How are the teams named?

I always tried to use the language of the country the teams are coming from. The fact that there are obviously some variations of the names of certain clubs, which might have changed through the years, caused some trouble. If there are errors (I'm really not an expert for all European languages) please inform me. If the name of a team has fundamentally changed (i.e. "Dinamo Zagreb" changed its name to "Croatia Zagreb" and many east-german teams in the early 90's changed their names) I always indicated such changes.
I always included the name of the city in the name of the teams, i.e. I used the name "Juventus Torino" for the team well-known as "Juventus". I hope this will not cause any problems for the understanding and be considered correctly.
Sometimes teams are named as "city squads". The original idea of the "Inter-Cities Fairs Cup" was a competition between teams selected from all teams of a city hosting a fair (like a national team that is selected from all teams or players of a certain country). But this idea quickly come out of fashion and only a few times such selections played. These selections are named as "city squads". The city squads in this competition were replaced by teams originated in such cities. Starting with the season 1971/72 the UEFA took control of the competition and it was named "UEFA Cup".

Which names are used for the various rounds?

Over the years I used this designations for the various rounds of the competitions (in this order): Qualification, Preliminary Round, First Round (only UEFA-Cup), Second Round (only UEFA-Cup), 1/8-Final, Quarterfinal, Semifinal, Final. The designation "Champions League (groups)" stands for itself, I hope.
I included all matches which are used for the UEFA ranking. So I also included the UIC Finals, but marked them as "UIC Final". The semi-finals I didn't include. Since the loosers of the preliminary round of the Champions League take part in the UEFA Cup, I marked it when the looser of a tie was placed in the UEFA Cup.
Starting from the Season 1999/2000 the UEFA introduced a new format of the European Cups. Because of the many teams playing in the former Champions' Cup that are not the champions of their country, the name "Champions League" will be used for the entire competition. The rounds will be designated: Qualification 1st (2nd, 3rd) Round, Group Stage 1st (2nd Round), Quarterfinal, Semifinal, Final. The "new" UEFA-Cup, consisting of the former UEFA-Cup and Cup Winners' Cup, will further be designated as "UEFA-Cup".


Albania, Andorra, Armenia (from 1994/95), Austria, Azerbaijan (from 1994/95), Belarus (from 1993/94), Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina (from 1998/99), Bulgaria, Croatia (from 1993/94), Cyprus, Czechoslovakia (Champions’ Cup and UEFA-Cup until 1993/94, Cup Winners Cup until 1992/93), Czech Republic (Champions’ Cup and UEFA-Cup from 1994/95, Cup Winners Cup from 1993/94), Denmark, England, Estonia (from 1992/93), Faroe Islands, Finland, France, FRG (until 1991/92), GDR (until 1991/92), Georgia (from 1993/94), Germany (from 1992/93), Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Israel, Italy, Latvia (from 1992/93), Liechtenstein, Lithuania (from 1992/93), Luxembourg, FYR Macedonia (from 1994/95), Malta, Moldova (from 1993/94), Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Ireland, Romania, Russia (from 1992/93), Saarland, San Marino, Scotland, Slovakia (Champions’ Cup and UEFA-Cup from 1994/95, Cup Winners Cup from 1993/94), Slovenia (from 1992/93), Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine (from 1992/93), USSR (until 1991/92), Wales, Yugoslavia (until 1991/92), FR Yugoslavia (from 1996/97)

Teams from various associations had domestic ties with teams representing the same associations.

back to RSSSF-Archive 

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Karsten Dähn for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation
Author: Karsten Dähn (

Last updated: 16-Aug-99

Copyright © 1996/2001 Karsten Dähn and RSSSF

You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.