Belgium National Team Coaches

1904-10 No Coach
1910-14 William J. Maxwell (Scotland)
1914    Charles Bunyan (England)
1914-28 William J. Maxwell (Scotland)
1928-30 Viktor Löwenfeld (Austria)
1930-34 Hector Goetinck 
1934-35 Jules Turnhauer (Hungary)
1935-39 Jack Butler (England)
1939-40 Hector Goetinck
1940-46 François Demol
1945-53 William "Bill" Gormilie (England)
1953-54 Dougall "Duggie" Livingstone (Scotland) 
1954-57 André Vandeweyer 
1957    Louis Nicolay
1957-58 Geza Toldi (Hungary) 
1958-68 Constant Vanden Stock was national selector with the following 
  58-60 Victor Havilcek (Czechoslovakia)
  60-61 Henri Dekens 
  61-66 Arthur Ceuleers 
  66-68 Raymond Goethals 
1968-76 Raymond Goethals
1976-89 Guy Thys 
1989-90 Walter Meeuws
1990-91 Guy Thys 
1991-96 Paul Van Himst
1996-97 Wilfried Van Moer 
1997-99 Georges Leekens
1999-02 Robert Waseige
2001    Vince Briganti & Jacky Munaron (Waseige’s assistants coaches managed
          Belgium in a friendly game against Czech Republic on April 25 as
          the coach was recovering from a quadruple heart bypass operation)
2002    Aimé Anthuenis

About this document

With thanks to Cris Freddi and Luc Vandenberghe

Prepared and maintained by Hassanin Mubarak for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hassanin Mubarak (
Last updated: 7 Aug 2003

(C) Copyright Hassanin Mubarak and RSSSF 2003
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.