England - Players Awards

Elected by the Football Writers' Association.  Any player from the English 
League, no matter their country of origin, is eligible. The award is for 
the season ending on the year the prize is given.

List of Winners

Year   Player (Club)             

1948   Stanley MATTHEWS (Blackpool)
1949   Johnny CAREY (Manchester United)
1950   Joe MERCER (Arsenal)
1951   Harry JOHNSTON (Blackpool)
1952   Billy WRIGHT (Wolverhampton Wanderers)
1953   Nat LOFTHOUSE (Bolton Wanderers)
1954   Tom FINNEY (Preston North End)
1955   Don REVIE (Manchester City)
1956   Bert TRAUTMANN (Manchester City)
1957   Tom FINNEY (Preston North End)
1958   Danny BLANCHFLOWER (Tottenham Hotspur)
1959   Syd OWEN (Luton Town)
1960   Bill SLATER (Wolverhampton Wanderers)
1961   Danny BLANCHFLOWER (Tottenham Hotspur)
1962   Jimmy ADAMSON (Burnley)
1963   Stanley MATTHEWS (Stoke City)
1964   Bobby MOORE (West Ham United)
1965   Bobby COLLINS (Leeds United)
1966   Bobby CHARLTON (Manchester United)
1967   Jackie CHARLTON (Leeds United)
1968   George BEST (Manchester United)
1969   Dave MACKAY (Derby County) and
       Tony BOOK (Manchester City)
1970   Billy BREMNER (Leeds United)
1971   Frank McLINTOCK (Arsenal)
1972   Gordon BANKS (Stoke City)
1973   Pat JENNINGS (Tottenham Hotspur)
1974   Ian CALLAGHAN (Liverpool)
1975   Alan MULLERY (Fulham)
1976   Kevin KEEGAN (Liverpool)
1977   Emlyn HUGHES (Liverpool)
1978   Kenny BURNS (Nottingham Forest)
1979   Kenny DALGLISH (Liverpool)
1980   Terry McDERMOTT (Liverpool)
1981   Frans THIJSSEN (Ipswich Town)
1982   Steve PERRYMAN (Tottenham Hotspur)
1983   Kenny DALGLISH (Liverpool)
1984   Ian RUSH (Liverpool)
1985   Neville SOUTHALL (Everton)
1986   Gary LINEKER (Everton)
1987   Clive ALLEN (Tottenham Hotspur)
1988   John BARNES (Liverpool)
1989   Steve NICOL (Liverpool)
1990   John BARNES (Liverpool)
1991   Gordon STRACHAN (Leeds United)
1992   Gary LINEKER (Tottenham Hotspur)
1993   Chris WADDLE (Sheffield Wednesday)
1994   Alan SHEARER (Blackburn Rovers)
1995   Jürgen KLINSMANN (Tottenham Hotspur)
1996   Eric CANTONA (Manchester United)
1997   Gianfranco ZOLA (Chelsea)
1998   Dennis BERGKAMP (Arsenal)
1999   David GINOLA (Tottenham Hotspur)
2000   Roy KEANE (Manchester United)
2001   Teddy SHERINGHAM (Manchester United)
2002   Robert PIRES (Arsenal)
2003   Thierry HENRY (Arsenal)
2004   Thierry HENRY (Arsenal)
2005   Frank LAMPARD (Chelsea)
2006   Thierry HENRY (Arsenal)
2007   Cristiano RONALDO (Manchester United)
2008   Cristiano RONALDO (Manchester United)
2009   Steven GERRARD (Liverpool)
2010   Wayne ROONEY (Manchester United)
2011   Scott PARKER (West Ham United)
2012   Robin VAN PERSIE (Arsenal)
2013   Gareth BALE (Tottenham Hotspur)
2014   Luis SUAREZ (Liverpool)
2015   Eden HAZARD (Chelsea)
2016   Jamie VARDY (Leicester City)
2017   N'Golo KANTE (Chelsea)
2018   Mohamed SALAH (Liverpool)
2019   Raheem STERLING (Manchester City)
2020   Jordan HENDERSON (Liverpool) 
2021   RÚBEN DIAS dos Santos (Manchester City)
2022   Mohamed SALAH (Liverpool)

Note: The award was shared in 1969.

About this document

Thanks to Roberto Di Maggio for updates

Prepared and maintained by José Luis Pierrend for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: José Luis Pierrend (josepie@hotmail.com)
Last updated: 19 Aug 2022

(C) Copyright José Luis Pierrend and RSSSF 1999/2022
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.