South American Player of the Year 1990

By the Venezuelan newspaper El Mundo; chosen by soccer writers from South 
America.  Any South-American player is eligible no matter where he plays.
Top 10
 1. Diego MARADONA                           Argentina      Napoli (Ita)
 2. Claudio CANIGGIA                         Argentina      Atalanta (Ita)
 3. René HIGUITA                             Colombia       Atlético Nacional (Col)
 4. Antonio de Oliveira Filho "CARECA"       Brazil         Napoli (Ita)
 5. Ricardo Rogério de Brito "ALEMÃO"        Brazil         Napoli (Ita)
    Sergio GOYCOCHEA                         Argentina      Racing Club (Arg)
 7. Hugo SÁNCHEZ                             Mexico         Real Madrid (Spa)
 8. Luis Gabelo CONEJO                       Costa Rica     Albacete (Spa)
 9. Carlos VALDERRAMA                        Colombia       Montpellier (Fra)
10. Diego LATORRE                            Argentina      Boca Juniors (Arg)
    Ruben SOSA                               Uruguay        Lazio (Ita)

By the Uruguayan newspaper El País. Only those playing in American leagues are eligible.
Winner is called "Rey del futbol de América" (America's Football King).
Top 5
 1. Raúl Vicente AMARILLA          57 pts    Paraguay       Olimpia (Par)
 2. Ruben DA SILVA                 32  "     Uruguay        River Plate (Arg)
 3. Leonel ALVAREZ                 25  "     Colombia       Atlético Nacional (Col)
    René HIGUITA                   25  "     Colombia       Atlético Nacional (Col)
 5. Fabian BASUALDO		   23  "     Argentina      River Plate (Arg)

About this document

Sources: [Oli 95]

Prepared and maintained by Erik Garin and José Luis Pierrend for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Erik Garin ( and José Luis Pierrend (
Last updated: 7 Jan 2001

(C) Copyright José Luis Pierrend and RSSSF 2000/01
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.