South American Player of the Year 1992

By the Venezuelan newspaper El Mundo; chosen by soccer writers from South 
America.  Any South-American player is eligible no matter where he plays.
Top 10
 1. Diego MARADONA                 32 pts    Argentina       Sevilla (Spa)
 2. José Gama Oliveira "BEBETO"    31        Brazil          Deportivo La Coruña (Spa)
 3. RAÍ Souza Oliveira             25        Brazil          São Paulo F.C.
 4. Gabriel BATISTUTA              24        Argentina       Fiorentina (Ita)
 5. Claudio CANIGGIA               21        Argentina       AS Roma (Ita)
 6. Daniel FONSECA                 18        Uruguay         Napoli (Ita)
 7. ROMÁRIO de Souza Faria         17        Brazil          PSV Eindhoven (Hol)
 8. CABANAS                        14        Paraguay        Boca Juniors (Arg)
 9. Iván ZAMORANO                  13        Chile           Sevilla (Spa)/Real Madrid (Spa)
10. MÜLLER                         10        Brazil          São Paulo FC 

By the Uruguayan newspaper El País. Only those playing in American
leagues are eligible.
Winner is called "Rey del futbol de América" (America's Football King).
Top 10
 1. RAÍ Souza Oliveira		   55 pts    Brazil          São Paulo FC
 2. Sergio GOYCOECHEA	           24        Argentina       Olimpia
 3. Alberto ACOSTA	           20        Argentina       Newell's Old Boys
    Fernando GAMBOA	           20        Argentina       San Lorenzo
 5. Marcos Morais CAFU	           18        Brazil          São Paulo FC
 6. RENATO Gaúcho	           17        Brazil          Cruzeiro
 7. Leovigildo Gama JUNIOR         14        Brazil          CR Flamengo
 8. BOIADEIRO                      13        Brazil          Boca Juniors
    Alberto MARCICO                13        Argentina       Cruzeiro
10. Luis ISLAS                     10        Argentina       Independiente

About this document

Source: [Oli 95]

With thanks to Erik Garin

Prepared and maintained by Josef Bobrowsky and José Luis Pierrend for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Josef Bobrowsky ( and José Luis Pierrend (
Last updated: 27 Jan 2001

(C) Copyright Josef Bobrowsky, José Luis Pierrend and RSSSF 1999/2001
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.