Scotland - Player of the Year

As voted for by the Scottish Football Writers' Association.

List of Winners

Year    Player (Club)             
1965	William (Billy) McNeill (Celtic)
1966	John Greig (Rangers)
1967	Ronald Simpson (Celtic)
1968	Gordon Wallace (Raith Rovers)
1969	Robert Murdoch (Celtic)
1970	Patrick Stanton (Hibernian)
1971	Martin Buchan (Aberdeen)
1972	David Smith (Rangers)
1973	George Connelly (Celtic)
1974	Scotland World cup squad
1975	William (Sandy) Jardine (Rangers)
1976	John Greig (Rangers)
1977	Daniel McGrain (Celtic)
1978	Derek Johnstone (Rangers)
1979	Andrew Ritchie (Morton)
1980	Gordon Strachan (Aberdeen)
1981	Alan Rough (Partick Thistle)
1982	Paul Sturrock (Dundee United)
1983	Charles Nicholas (Celtic)
1984	William Miller (Aberdeen)
1985	Hamish McAlpine (Dundee United)
1986	William (Sandy) Jardine (Heart of Midlothian)
1987	Brian McClair (Celtic)
1988	Paul McStay (Celtic)
1989	Richard Gough (Rangers)
1990	Alexander McLeish (Aberdeen)
1991	Maurice Malpas (Dundee United)
1992	Alistair McCoist (Rangers)
1993	Andrew Goram (Rangers)
1994	Mark Hateley (Rangers)
1995	Brian Laudrup (Rangers)
1996	Paul Gascoigne (Rangers)
1997	Brian Laudrup (Rangers)
1998	Craig Burley (Celtic)
1999	Henrik Larsson (Celtic)
2000	Barry Ferguson (Rangers)
2001    Henrik Larsson (Celtic)
2002    Paul Lambert (Celtic)
2003    Barry Ferguson (Rangers)
2004    Jackie McNamara (Celtic)
2005    John Hartson (Celtic)
2006    Craig Gordon (Heart of Midlothian)
2007    Shunsuke Nakamura (Celtic)
2008    Carlos Cuellar (Rangers)
2009    Gary Caldwell (Celtic)
2010    David Weir (Rangers)
2011    Emilio Izaguirre (Celtic)
2012    Charlie Mulgrew (Celtic)
2013    Leigh Griffiths (Hibernian)
2014    Kris Commons (Celtic)
2015    Craig Gordon (Celtic)
2016    Leigh Griffiths (Celtic)
2017    Scott Sinclair (Celtic)
2018    Scott Brown (Celtic)
2019    James Forrest (Celtic)
2020    Odsonne Edouard (Celtic) 
2021    Steven Davis (Rangers)
2022    Craig Gordon (Heart of Midlothian)

About this document

Thanks to Roberto Di Maggio

Prepared and maintained by Alan Brown for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Alan Brown
Last updated: 19 Aug 2022

(C) Copyright Alan Brown and RSSSF 2001/22
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.