"World Soccer" Football of the Year 2001

Every year the English magazine World Soccer has its readers select winners for its World Footballer of the Year award. The election is open to any player worldwide.

Top 10
 1. Michael OWEN                 31 %     England        Liverpool FC (Eng)
 2. David BECKHAM                16 %     England        Manchester United (Eng)
 3. RAÚL Gonzáles Blanco         12 %     Spain          Real Madrid (Spa)
 4. Francesco TOTTI               8 %     Italy          AS Roma (Ita)
 5. RIVALDO Vitor Borba Ferreira  6 %     Brazil         FC Barcelona (Spa)
 6. Oliver KAHN                   4 %     Germany        Bayern Munich (Ger)
 7. Luis FIGO                     3 %     Portugal       Real Madrid (Spa)
 8. Andrii SHEVCHENKO             3 %     Ukraine        AC Milan (Ita)
 9. Henrik LARSSON                2 %     Sweden         Celtic Glasgow (Sco)
10. Hernán CRESPO                 2 %     Argentina      Lazio (Ita)

overview file

About this document

Prepared and maintained by José Luis Pierrend for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: José Luis Pierrend (josepie@hotmail.com)
Last updated: 16 Dec 2001

(C) Copyright José Luis Pierrend and RSSSF 2001
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.