"World Soccer" Football of the Year 1986

Every year the English magazine World Soccer has its readers select winners for its World Footballer of the Year award. The election is open to any player worldwide.

Top 10
 1. Diego MARADONA               35 %     Argentina       Napoli (Ita)
 2. Igor BELANOV                  6 %     Soviet Union    Dynamo Kiev (USSR)
 3. Gary LINEKER                  5 %     England         Everton (Eng) / FC Barcelona (Spa)
 4. Emilio BUTRAGUE—O             4 %     Spain           Real Madrid (Spa)
 5. Jan CEULEMANS                 4 %     Belgium         Club Brugge (Bel)
 6. Michael LAUDRUP               4 %     Denmark         Juventus (Ita)
 7. Preben ELKJÆR-LARSEN          3 %     Denmark         Verona (Ita)
 8. Antonio Oliveira "CARECA"     3 %     Brazil          S„o Paulo FC (Bra)
 9. Jean-Marie PFAFF              3 %     Belgium         Bayern MŁnchen (Ger)
10. Jorge BURRUCHAGA              3 %     Argentina       FC Nantes (Fra)

overview file

About this document

Prepared and maintained by José Luis Pierrend for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: José Luis Pierrend (josepie@hotmail.com)
Last updated: 11 Jun 2000

(C) Copyright José Luis Pierrend and RSSSF 2000
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.