"World Soccer" Football of the Year 1987

Every year the English magazine World Soccer has its readers select winners for its World Footballer of the Year award. The election is open to any player worldwide.

Top 10
 1. Ruud GULLIT                  38 %     Holland        PSV Eindhoven (Hol) / AC Milan (Ita)
 2. Diego MARADONA               13 %     Argentina      Napoli (Ita)  
 3. Marco VAN BASTEN              8 %     Holland        Ajax (Hol) / AC Milan (Ita)
 4. Emilio BUTRAGUEÑO             6 %     Spain          Real Madrid (Spa)
 5. Paulo FUTRE                   5 %     Portugal       FC Porto (Por) / Atlético Madrid (Spa)
 6. Ian RUSH                      3 %     Wales          Liverpool (Eng) / Juventus (Ita)
 7. Gary LINEKER                  3 %     England        FC Barcelona (Spa)
 8. Hugo SÁNCHEZ                  2 %     Mexico         Real Madrid (Spa)
 9. Michel PLATINI                1 %     France         Juventus (Ita)
10. Rabah MADJER                  1 %     Algeria        FC Porto (Por)

overview file

About this document

Prepared and maintained by José Luis Pierrend for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: José Luis Pierrend (josepie@hotmail.com)
Last updated: 11 Jun 2000

(C) Copyright José Luis Pierrend and RSSSF 2000
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.