"World Soccer" Football of the Year 1988

Every year the English magazine World Soccer has its readers select winners for its World Footballer of the Year award. The election is open to any player worldwide.

Top 10
 1. Marco VAN BASTEN            43 %     Holland         AC Milan (Ita)
 2. Ruud GULLIT                 21 %     Holland         AC Milan (Ita)
 3. Frank RIJKAARD               7 %     Holland         Real Zaragoza (Spa) / AC Milan (Ita)
 4. Ronald KOEMAN                6 %     Holland         PSV Eindhoven (Hol)
 5. Alexei MIKHAILICHENKO        5 %     Soviet Union    Dynamo Kiev (USSR)
 6. Diego MARADONA               2 %     Argentina       Napoli (Ita)
 7. Gianluca VIALLI              2 %     Italy           Sampdoria (Ita)
 8. Alexander ZAVAROV            2 %     Soviet Union    Dynamo Kiev (USSR) / Juventus (Ita)
 9. John BARNES                  2 %     England         Liverpool (Eng)
10. ROMÁRIO de Souza Faria       1 %     Brazil          Vasco da Gama (Bra) / PSV Eindhoven (Hol)    

overview file

About this document

Prepared and maintained by José Luis Pierrend for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: José Luis Pierrend (josepie@hotmail.com)
Last updated: 11 Jun 2000

(C) Copyright José Luis Pierrend and RSSSF 2000
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.