"World Soccer" Football of the Year 1989

Every year the English magazine World Soccer has its readers select winners for its World Footballer of the Year award. The election is open to any player worldwide.

Top 10
 1. Ruud GULLIT                 24 %     Holland         AC Milan (Ita)
 2. Marco VAN BASTEN            18 %     Holland         AC Milan (Ita)
 3. José Gama Oliveira BEBETO   10 %     Brazil          Vasco da Gama (Bra)
 4. Diego MARADONA               7 %     Argentina       Napoli (Ita)
 5. Franco BARESI                6 %     Italy           AC Milan (Ita)
 6. Peter SHILTON                6 %     England         Derby County (Eng)
 7. ROMÁRIO de Souza Faria       5 %     Brazil          PSV Eindhoven (Hol)
 8. Michael LAUDRUP              4 %     Denmark         FC Barcelona (Spa)
 9. Lothar MATTHÄUS              3 %     West Germany    Inter Milan (Ita)
10. Ruben SOSA                   2 %     Uruguay         Lazio (Ita)

overview file

About this document

Prepared and maintained by José Luis Pierrend for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: José Luis Pierrend (josepie@hotmail.com)
Last updated: 11 Jun 2000

(C) Copyright José Luis Pierrend and RSSSF 2000
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.