"World Soccer" Football of the Year 1997

Every year the English magazine World Soccer has its readers select winners for its World Footballer of the Year award. The election is open to any player worldwide.

Top 10
 1. RONALDO Nazario de Lima      27 %     Brazil         FC Barcelona (Spa) / Inter Milan (Ita)
 2. Dennis BERGKAMP              12 %     Holland        Arsenal (Eng)
 3. Gianfranco ZOLA               7 %     Italy          Chelsea (Eng)
 4. ROBERTO CARLOS Da Silva       6 %     Brazil         Real Madrid (Spa)
 5. Osvaldo Giroldo "JUNINHO"     5 %     Brazil         Middlesbrough (Eng) / Atl.Madrid (Spa)
 6. José Luis CHILAVERT           4 %     Paraguay       Vélez Sarsfield (Arg)
 7. Youri DJORKAEFF               4 %     France         Inter Milan (Ita)
    Zinedine ZIDANE               4 %     France         Juventus (Ita)
 9. RAÚL Gonzáles Blanco          3 %     Spain          Real Madrid (Spa)
10. Predrag MIJATOVIC             3 %     Yugoslavia     Real Madrid (Spa)

overview file

About this document

Prepared and maintained by José Luis Pierrend for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: José Luis Pierrend (josepie@hotmail.com)
Last updated: 11 Jun 2000

(C) Copyright José Luis Pierrend and RSSSF 2000
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.