African Club Competitions 1967

  • Champions' Cup
  • About this document


    Champions' Cup 1967

    Preliminary Round
    AS Fonctionnaires        UpV  Augustinians             Gam      w/o       x
    Secteur 6                Nig  Al-Ittihad               Lby   3-2  1-3  4-5
    x Augustinians withdrew before 1st leg
    First Round
    Al-Hilal                 Sud  Olympic (Alexandria)     Egy   0-1  1-3  1-4
    Al-Ittihad               Lby  Diamant Yaoundé          Cam      w/o       x
    Djoliba AC               Mli  Invincible Eleven        Lbr      w/o       x
    AS Fonctionnaires        UpV  Conakry II               Gui   0-2  1-1  1-3y
    Saint George             Eth  Bitumastic               Uga      w/o       x
    AS Saint Louisienne      Sen  Asante Kotoko            Gha   2-3  0-3  2-6
    Stade (Abidjan)          IvC  Modèle Lomé              Tog   2-1  0-0  2-1z
    TP Englebert             Zai  Abeilles FC              CoB   2-0  3-1  5-1w
     [Saïdi 35pen, Kalala 40]
     [Pwaty 'Dolido' 1-0; Saïdi 1-1, Tshinabu 1-2, 1-3]
    x Diamant Yaoundé, Invincible Eleven and Bitumastic withdrew before 1st leg
    y Conakry II were later renamed Hafia FC; 1st leg May 7 also reported 1-2
    z Modèle Lomé were dissolved 1974
    w 1st leg Mar 19 in Kinshasa; 2nd leg Mar 26 in Brazzaville;
      TP Englebert were  later renamed TP Mazembe
    Al-Ittihad               Lby  TP Englebert             Zai      w/o       x
    Djoliba AC               Mli  Conakry II               Gui   2-1  0-0  2-1z
    Saint George             Eth  Olympic (Alexandria)     Egy   3-2  w/o     y
    Stade (Abidjan)          IvC  Asante Kotoko            Gha   1-3  2-5  3-8
    x Al-Ittihad withdrew before 1st leg
    y Olympic withdrew after 1st leg
    z 1st leg Jul 10, 2nd leg Jul 23
    Asante Kotoko            Gha  Djoliba AC               Mli   1-1  2-1  3-2
    TP Englebert             Zai  Saint George             Eth   3-1  1-2  4-3
    Final (Nov 19 and 26)
    Kumasi Stadium, Kumasi and 20th May Stadium, Kinshasa
    Asante Kotoko            Gha  TP Englebert             Zai   1-1  2-2  3-3x aet
    x At the end of extra time of the second leg, the referee decided that lots
      would be drawn to attribute the trophy on the next day.  Meanwhile, the
      CAF secretary general arrived with regulations that the match be replayed.
      The replay was set for December 27th, in Yaoundé, Cameroon, but Asante
      Kotoko did not show (apparently not having been informed of the replay
      arrangements by the Ghanaian FA) and TP Englebert were declared winners.

    About this document

    Source for data on Conakry II matches: [Con 08]

    Thanks to Neil Morrison for correction on Englebert vs Abeilles matches

    Prepared and maintained by Eric Boesenberg for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

    Author: Eric Boesenberg
    Last updated: 1 Mar 2018

    (c) Copyright Eric Boesenberg and RSSSF 1998/2018
    You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.