Algeria - Foundation Dates of Clubs

1894  Apr 14  Club de Joyeusetés d'Oran [football department founded 1897, Jul 10]
1897  Feb  5  Club Athlétique d'Oran [1921 merged with Club Liberté d'Oran to Club Athlétique Liberté d'Oran]   
      Sep  ?  Sporting Club Oranais
1898  Jun 26  Club Sportif Constantinois [founded as Ikbal Emancipation (Constantine)]  
1900          Olympique Club de Safi [founded as Union Sportive de Safi] 
              Avant Garde Sportive de Mascara [disbanded 1962] 
1902          Sporting Club Algérois
              Racing Club Algérien
1903          Feth Carteaux d'Oran [founded as FC Oranais]
1904  Oct  4  Football Club Blidéen (Blida)
1905          Gallia Club Algérois
1906  Jan  7  Gallia Club Oranais [disbanded 1962]
              Sporting Club de Bel-Abbès (Sidi Bel-Abbès) [disbanded 1962]
1908  Jan  1   Sport Association Saint Eugènoise d'Alger [aka AS St.-Eugène]
1910          Etoile Sportive de Dupéré (Ain Defla)
1912          Olympique de Tizi Ouzou [disbanded 1962]
1913  Jan 30  Ghali Club de Mascara [founded as FC Musulmanes de Mascara]    
1913  Dec 13  Olympic d'Hussein Dey
1915          Association Sportive de Bône
1917  Jan  1  Mouloudia Club Musulman d'Oran [merged 1924 with Hamidia Club Musulman d'Oran
                                              to Mouloudia Hamidia Club Musulman d'Oran]
1917          Jeunesse Sportive Guelmoise
1919          Association Sportive de la Marine d'Oran [disbanded 1962]
              Jeunesse Sportive Saint-Eugène (Oran) [disbanded 1962]
1921  Aug  7  Mouloudia Club d'Alger [called Mouloudia Chaabia d'Alger between 1971 and 1973]
              Club Athlétique Liberté d'Oran [merger of Club Athlétique d'Oran and Club Liberté d'Oran]
ca. 1921      Sporting Club de Cheminots de Souk-Ahras
              Jeunesse Sportive de Cheminots de Souk-Ahras
1923  Aug  9  Entente Sportive de Collo
              Etoile Sportive de Berrouaghia
              Iberica FC (Alger)
1924  Apr  4  Espérance Sportive de Guelma [founded as Etendard Sportif Musulman Guelmois]
      Oct 22  Mouloudia Hamidia Club Musulman d'Oran [merger of Mouloudia Club Musulman d'Oran and
                 Hamidia Club Musulman d'Oran; renamed Mouloudia Club d'Oran in 1931 and reformed
                 as such on 14 May 1946 following an interruption between 1939 and 1946 due to WW II]
      Nov 21  Olympique de Marengo
              Stade Ain Bessemois
              Rapid de Riveh (Meftah)
              Association Sportive de Boufarik
1925  Jun  6  Ghali Chabab (Mascara) [founded as Gallia Club de Mascara]             
              Jeunesse Sportive de Guelma
1926  Mar  1  Union Sportive Musulmane d'Oran
              Etoile Sportive de Duperré (Ain Defla)
              Union Sportive Blidéen
1927  Apr 13  Association Sportive de Khroub
              Etoile Sportive de Bou-Saâda
              Hijos d'España (Oran)
              Racing Universitaire d'Alger 
1928          Union Sportive Italienne Pietro Ceresa (Alger)
1929  May 11  Jeunesse Sportive de Kabylie (Tizi-Ouzou) [founded as Rapide Club de Tizi-Ouzou]
              Ittihad Baladiat Lakhdaria [founded as Union Sportive de Palestro]
              Etoile Jeunesse Philippoise [merger of Etoile Sportive de Philippeville and Jeunesse Sportive de Philippeville; disbanded]
1930          Sari Amel Mohammadia
1931          Chabab Ahly Bordj Bou Arreridj
              Union Sportive des Mineurs d'El Harrach
              Rapid Club Musulman de Souk-Ahras
1932  Jun 16  Union Sportive Madinet de Blida [founded as Union Sportive Musulmane Blidéenne]    
              Chabab Aurès de Batna
              Jeunesse Sportive de Bordj-Ménaïel
1933  Feb 12  Union Sportive Madinet Sétif [founded as Union Sportive Musulmane Sétifienne]
              AS Madinet d'Oran [founded as AS Musulmane Oranaise]
              Union Sportive Musulman de Sidi-bel-Abbès
              Association Sportive de Chemistes d'Oran
1934          Union Sportive de Biskra
1935          Union Sportive Madinet El Harrach [founded as Union Sportive Musulmane de Maison-Carrée] 
1936  Mar 12  Jeunesse Sportive Djidjelienne (Jijel)
      May 17  Jeunesse Sportive Madinet de Béjaïa  
      Aug  8  Jeunesse Sportive Madinet Skikda [founded as Jeunesse Sportive Musulmane de Philippeville]
              Union Sportive de Chaouia (Oum el Bouaghi)
              Association Sportive de Aïn M'lila
              Hydra Athlectic Club (Alger)
              Nadi Riadhi Baladiat Touggourt
              Union Sportive de Tébessa [founded as Jil Sa'ad Madenet Tbessa]
              Safaa Khemis Association Football (Khemis Miliana) [founded as Sporting Club d'Affreville]
1937  Mar 22  Jeunesse Sportive Musulmane de Tlemcen
1937  Jul  5  Union Sportive de la Médina d'Alger [founded as Union Sportive Musulmane Algéroise]
1938          Union Sportive de Berkane [founded as AS de Berkane; merged 1970 with Club Raidi de Berkane to Renaissance Sportive de Berkane]
1939  Dec 15  Mouloudia Olympique de Constantine  
              Avenir Sportif de La Marsa
1940          Olympique Bou Saada
1941  Feb 27  Raed Club Arbâa [founded as Raed Club Arbéen]
1942  Jan 28  Raed Chabab de Kouba (Alger)
1943          Union Sportive de la Médina d'Aïn Beïda
              Jeunesse Sportive Madinet de Tiaret [founded as Jeunesse Sportive Musulmane de Tiaret]  
1944          Jeunesse Sportive El Biar (Alger)
1945  Jan 28  Raed Solb de Kouba  
              NARB Reghaia [full name not known]
              Entente Sportif de Sétif
              Wydad Alfa (Boufarik)  
              Olympique Médéa
1946  Aug  2  Jeunesse Sportive de Kabylie [temporarily known as Jeunesse Sportive de Tizi Ouzou]
1946          Milaha Athletic (Hussein-Dey)
1947  May 31  Mouloudia Club de Saïda  
      Jun 13  Association Sportive Olympique de Chlef [founded as Association Sportive de Orléansville]
      Jun 15  Nasr Athlétique de Hussein Dey
              Union Sportive Musulmane Madinet Hadjout [founded as Union Sportive Musulmane de Marengo]
1954          Mouloudia Olympique de Béjaja
1957  Sep  2  Rapid Commune de Souk-Ahras [founded as Entente Sportive de Souk-Ahras (ESSA)]
1962          Wydad Athlétique de Tlemcen
              Mouloudia Sportive Populaire de Batna
              Olympique Mustqbal Ruisseaux El Annasser (Alger)
              Chabab Riadi Belouizdad Belcourt (Alger) 
1968          JH Djazair (Alger) [disbanded 1989]
1969          Club Raidi de Berkane [merged 1970 with Union Sportive de Berkane to Renaissance Sportive de Berkane]  
1970          Renaissance Sportive de Berkane [merger of Union Sportive de Berkane and Club Radi de Berkane]
1994          Paradou Athletic Club (Alger)  

Women Club Foundation Dates

1920          AS Algeroise
1921          Gallia Club Oranaise
1995          AFAK Relizane     
1997          ASE Alger Centre
              AS Intissar Oran
1999          FC Béjaïa
2000          MZ Biskra   
2004          Fataiat Club de Constantine [FC Costantine]
2008          AS Oran Centre 
2010  Mar  8  CF Akbou

About this document

Source for women 1920 and 1921 foundation dates: [Fal 17-18]

Thanks to Fayçal Boutenzar and Sofiane Nourai for corrections

Prepared and maintained by Lars Kubusch and Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Lars Kubusch and Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 10 Apr 2024

(C) Copyright Lars Kubusch, Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2002/24
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.