Argentina (Campeonato Nacional) - List of Champions and Runners-Up

This tournament was held in addition to the regular league championship (Metropolitano), which was the traditional Campeonato de Primera División, played with teams based in the Metropolitan area. In contrast, the Campeonato Nacional was open to clubs from all regions.

Argentine National Champions 1967 to 1985

Year    Champions                         Runners-Up
1967    Independiente (Avellaneda)        Estudiantes de La Plata
1968    Vélez Sarsfield                   River Plate
1969    Boca Juniors                      River Plate
1970    Boca Juniors                      Rosario Central
1971    Rosario Central                   San Lorenzo de Almagro
1972    San Lorenzo de Almagro            River Plate
1973    Rosario Central                   River Plate
1974    San Lorenzo de Almagro            Rosario Central  
1975    River Plate                       Estudiantes de La Plata
1976    Boca Juniors                      River Plate
1977    Independiente (Avellaneda)        Talleres (Córdoba)
1978    Independiente (Avellaneda)        River Plate
1979    River Plate                       Unión (Santa Fe)
1980    Rosario Central                   Atlético Racing (Córdoba)
1981    River Plate                       Ferro Carril Oeste (Buenos Aires)
1982    Ferro Carril Oeste (Buenos Aires) Quilmes
1983    Estudiantes de La Plata           Independiente (Avellaneda)
1984    Ferro Carril Oeste (Buenos Aires) River Plate
1985    Argentinos Juniors                Vélez Sarsfield

Nacional Champions (Runner-ups)

Club Atlético River Plate              3 (7) (Buenos Aires)
Club Atlético Rosario Central          3 (2) (Rosario)
Club Atlético Independiente            3 (1) (Avellaneda)
Club Atlético Boca Juniors             3     (Buenos Aires)
Club Ferro Carril Oeste                2 (1) (Buenos Aires)
Club Atlético San Lorenzo de Almagro   2 (1) (Buenos Aires)
Club Estudiantes de La Plata           1 (2) (La Plata)
Club Atlético Vélez Sarsfield          1 (1) (Buenos Aires)
Asociación Atlética Argentinos Juniors 1     (Buenos Aires)
Club Atlético Racing                     (1) (Córdoba)
Quilmes Atlético Club                    (1) (Quilmes)
Club Atlético Talleres                   (1) (Córdoba)
Club Atlético Unión                      (1) (Santa Fe)

Argentina - Campeonato de Primera División

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Osvaldo José Gorgazzi for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Osvaldo José Gorgazzi (
Last updated: 25 Jul 2013

(C) Copyright Osvaldo José Gorgazzi and RSSSF 1995/2013
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.