Azteca 2000 Tournament 1985

NB: Mexico vs England also counted for Copa Ciudad de México.

Estadio Azteca, Ciudad de México

 9- 6 Mexico           1-0 England         [att: 15,000]
  [Luis FLores 20]
12- 6 England          3-0 West Germany    [att: 10,000]
  [Bryan Robson 34, Kerry Dixon 54, 67]  
15- 6 Mexico           2-0 West Germany    [att: 25,000]
  [Manuel Negrete 3, Luis Flores 46]

 1.Mexico           2  2  0  0  3- 0  4
 2.England          2  1  0  1  3- 1  2
 3.West Germany     2  0  0  2  0- 5  0


Round 1

Sunday, June 9, 1985; attendance: 15,000.
  [Luis Flores 20']

MEX: Pablo Larios; Mario Alberto Trejo, Félix Cruz Barbosa, Fernando Quirarte, Rafael Amador; Carlos Muñoz, Miguel España 
     (Carlos de los Cobos 85'), Manuel Negrete; Tomás Boy (Alejandro Domínguez 58'), Javier Aguirre, Luis Flores 
     (Carlos Hermosillo 58'). 
Coach: Velibor "Bora" Milutinovic (YUG)

ENG: Gary Bailey; Viv Anderson, Kenny Sansom, Ray Wilkins (Peter Reid 70'), Dave Watson; Terry Fenwick, Bryan Robson, 
     Trevor Francis; Mark Hateley, Glenn Hoddle (Kerry Dixon 80'), John Barnes (Chris Waddle 70'). 
Coach: Bobby Robson.

Referee: Volker Roth (FRG).

NB: This also counted for Copa Ciudad de México.

Round 2

Wednesday, June 12, 1985; attendance: 10,000
  [Bryan Robson 34', Kerry Dixon 54', 67']

ENG: Peter Shilton, Gary Stevens, Kenny Sansom, Glenn Hoddle, Mark Wright, Terry Butcher, Bryan Robson* (Paul Bracewell 73'), 
     PeterReid, Kerry Dixon, Gary Lineker (John Barnes 59'), Chris Waddle.
Coach: Bobby Robson.

FRG: Harald Schumacher*, Thomas Berthold, Mathias Herget, Ditmar Jakobs, Klaus Augenthaler, Andreas Brehme, Lothar Matthaus, 
     Felix Magath (Olaf Thon 69'), Uwe Rahn, Pierre Littbarski (Herbert Waas 73'), Frank Mill.
Coach: Franz Beckenbauer.

Referee: Jorge Alberto Leanza Sansone (ARG/MEX).

Round 3
Saturday, June 15, 1985; attendance: 28,000
  [Manuel Negrete 3', Luis Flores 46']

MEX: Olaf Heredia, Mario Alberto Trejo, Fernando Quirarte, Félix Cruz Barbosa, Rafael Amador, Carlos de los Cobos, 
     Miguel España, Manuel Negrete (Alejandro Dominguez 73'), Tomás Boy (Carlos Hermosillo 77'), Luis Flores.
Coach: Velibor "Bora" Milutinovic (YUG).
FRG: Uli Stein, Lothar Matthaus, Klaus Augenthaler (Michael Frontzeck 65'), Ditmar Jakobs, Andreas Brehme, Uwe Rahn, 
     Mathias Herget, Felix Magath, Frank Mill, Rudi Völler, Ludwig Kogl.
Coach: Franz Beckenbauer.

Referee: Keith Hackett (ENG).

NB: Tomás Boy (MEX) missed a penalty kick at 14' (saved).

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Erik Francisco Lugo, Erlan Manaschev and Neil Morrison for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Erik Francisco Lugo, Erlan Manaschev and Neil Morrison
Last updated: 21 Aug 2022

(C) Copyright Erik Francisco Lugo, Erlan Manaschev, Neil Morrison and RSSSF 1999/2022
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.