Botswana - List of Foundation Dates

1959        TAFIC FC (Francistown)             [*1] [break away from TAFA FC]
            Wonder Sporting Club (Otse)             [merged on 28 Jan 2014 with Botswana Police XI FC
                                                     into Police FC]
1960        Blue Birds FC (Tonota
1961        Township Rollers FC (Gaborone)     [*2] [founded as Mighty Tigers]
1962        Extension Gunners FC (Lobatse)          [founded as LSC Gunners]
            Miscellaneous SC (Serowe)
            Masitaoka FC (Molepolole)               [officially registered in 1968]
1963        Mochudi Rovers
1964        Prisons FC (Gaborone)
1965        Botswana Railway Highlanders FC (Mahalapye)
            Notwane FC (Gaborone)
            Red Sparks FC (Tlokweng)                [founded as Tlokweng Pirates Football] 
1966        Black Peril FC (Tlokweng)               [founded as Liverpool FC]
1967 Aug    Gaborone United SC
            Ghantsi Terrors    
1968        Chobe United (Kasane)
1969        Nico United SC (Selebi-Phikwe)           
            Gilport Lions FC (Lobatse)              [founded as Botswana Meat Commission]
1970        Naughty Boys FC (Tlokweng)
            Okawango SC (Shakawe)
1972        Mochudi Centre Chiefs FC
            Mogoditshane Fighters FC (Gaborone)
1974        Gunston United FC
1975        Mosquito FC (Selebi-Phikwe)             [founded as Black Vultures FC]
            Senete United
1976        Black Mamba (Modipane)
1977        Morupule Wanderers   
            Police FC (Otse)                        [merged on 28 Jan 2014 with Wonder Sporting Club]
1978        Botswana Defence Force FC (Gaborone)
            Marang SC (Gaborone)
1979        Bobonong Stone Breakers SC
            Mosquito FC (Selebi-Phikwe)
            Real Movers FC (Gaborone)
1980        Kopang Classic                          [founded as Top Stars]
            Red Lions FC (Selebi-Phikwe)
1981        Broadhurst United FC
            Bokaa Young Pirates FC 
1982        Rovers SC (Ramokgonami)
            Swift Masters (Gaborone)
            Green Lovers (Serowe)
            Zowa United SC (Lethlakane)
1983        Delta Winds SC (Maun)
            Malo-Mix (Gaborone)
            TASC FC (Gaborone)                      [founded as Army Zebras FC (Gaborone)]
1984        Sharps Shooting Stars FC (Gaborone)
1985        Mochudi Eastern Pirates FC 
            Moselebe Young Fighters FC (Hukuntsi)
1986        Manyane Celtics FC (Thamaga)
            Motlakase Power Dynamos FC (Palapye)
1987        Botswana Railway Highlanders FC
            Southern Pirates (Kanye)
1989        Letlapeng FC (Ramotswa)
            Mahalapye Hotspurs
198?        Bokaa Young Pirates
1990 Jan  1 Matebejana FC (Mogoditshane)
            Security Systems XI FC (Gaborone)       [founded as Rolling Stars FC]
            Stonebreakers (Letlhakane)
1991        Gaborone Young Strikers  
1992 Jul 22 King Rodgers SC (Tsabong)
            Ecco City Greens SC (Francistown)
1994        Moeti United SC
1996        FC Satmos (Selebi-Phikwe)               [founded as Copper Chiefs FC Selebi-Phikwe]
            Sankoyo Bush Bucks FC (Maun)
1997        Etsha Morning Stars FC (Etsha 1)        [registered 2012]
1998        Black Forest Magoleng FC (Gaborone)
1999        Siwelele FC (Mmashoro)
2000        Emajwe Real Stars SC (Kang)
            Mbalakalungu SC                         [aka Paras]
2003        Uniao Flamingo Santos FC (Gaborone)
2006        Kanye United
            Tonota FC
2008        Springbok FC (Gweta)
2009 Jun 25 Mopani United FC
     Jul  9 Gaborone Football Academy [GFA]
            Ncojane Young Stars FC
            Holy Ghost FC (Gaborone)
2010 Oct    Orapa United                            [merger of Orapa Bucs, Wanderers, Boteti,
2011 Dec 28 Real Brothers FC                         White Diamonds and Swallows]
            Boikago FC (Gaborone)
            Palapye Al Stars FC 
2013        BIUST All Stars FC                   
2014        Jwaneng Galaxy FC
2015 Jun  1 Molmas United FC   
            Chadibe North FC
2016        Lokgwabe United FC
2017        Taung Young Strikers
            Majweng SC (Molepolole)                 [merger of Boribamo United FC and
            Gumare United FC                         New Town Highlanders FC] 
            VTM FC
2018        Peake Makers FC (Paulpietersburg)
2020        Super Stars United (Selebi-Phikwe)

[*1] TAFIC = Tati African Football Independent Club;
     TAFA  = Tati African Football Associates
[*2] Mighty Tigers changed name to Township Rollers in 1965

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 27 Dec 2022

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2006/22
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.