CCM 10th Anniversary Cup 1987, Tanzania

CCM (Chama Cha Mapinduzi) was, and still is, Tanzania's governing political party formed on 5th February 1977. The tournament also commemorated the 20th anniversary of the Arusha Declaration (5th February 1967).

Originally the tournament was planned to begin on 24th January and to consist of two five-team groups at Dar es Salaam and Mwanza. However, arrangements were made at short notice and although invitations were sent to Algeria, Angola, Egypt, Kenya, Mozambique, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe, most of these nations had to decline to participate due to other commitments. Only Mozambique sent its national team, while Algeria sent its national university selection.

 1.Mozambique        4  2  1  1  8- 7  5
 2.Tanzania          4  1  2  1  5- 5  4
 3.Algeria Univ. XI  4  0  3  1  4- 5  3

31-Jan-87  Tanzania      1-1 Algeria University XI      [at Dar es Salaam]
             [Abeid Mziba 45' / Azzedine Grine 33']
 2-Feb-87  Mozambique    2-1 Algeria University XI      [at Dar es Salaam]
             [Nicolau de Sousa 'Nico' 3' 42' / Azzedine Grine 20']
 4-Feb-87  Tanzania      2-3 Mozambique                 [at Dar es Salaam]
             [Abeid Mziba 74' 80' / Nicolau de Sousa 'Nico' 51' 66', Carlos Baptista 77']
 5-Feb-87  Tanzania      0-0 Algeria University XI      [at Arusha]
 7-Feb-87  Mozambique    2-2 Algeria University XI      [at Mwanza]
             [Carlos Baptista 27', Alberto Nando 31' / Rachid El-Groud 20' pen 36']
 8-Feb-87  Tanzania      2-1 Mozambique                 [at Dodoma]
             [Abeid Mziba 52', Khalfan Ngassa (2-1) / Salvador Butana 36']

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Neil Morrison for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Neil Morrison
Last updated: 28 May 2015

(C) Copyright Neil Morrison and RSSSF 2015
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.