Tournament for Western African nations, held biannually between 1983 and 1991. A tournament may also have been held in 1977 but few data are known.

CEDEAO abbreviates Communauté Economique Des Etats de l'Afrique de l'Ouest. The English abbreviation is ECOWAS (Economic Community Of Western African States). There also were two ECOWAS Summit Football Tournaments, in 1990 and 1991, which were not part of the series.


Year  Winners              Runners-Up                 Venue
1977  Nigeria              unknown                    Nigeria
1979    not held
1981    not held
1983  Ivory Coast      1-0 Togo                       Ivory Coast
1985  Senegal          2-0 Ivory Coast                Senegal
1987  Ivory Coast      2-1 Liberia                    Liberia
1990  Nigeria          0-0 Senegal          [aet] [*] Nigeria
1991  Ivory Coast      1-0 Senegal                    Ivory Coast
[*] cup awarded to Nigeria as Senegal refused to take part in penalty shootout

Number of Wins

Number of runners-up finished between [square brackets]; 1977 runners-up
not known.

 3 Ivory Coast  [1]
 2 Nigeria      [0]
 1 Senegal      [2]
 0 Liberia      [1]
 0 Togo         [1]

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Neil Morrison and Karel Stokkermans for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Neil Morrison and Karel Stokkermans
Last updated: 19 Aug 2020

(C) Copyright Neil Morrison, Karel Stokkermans and RSSSF 1999/2020
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.