Costa Rica 1961

Prior to the championship, five clubs (Alajuelense, Herediano,
Saprissa, Cartaginés and Orión) withdrew from the Federación
de Fútbol and formed the Asociación de Fútbol (Asofútbol).

Because of this, two leagues were organised, that of the
Federación only including Carmen FC, SG Española (Gimnástica)
and promoted CS Uruguay.

Asofútbol Championship 1961

Final Table:

 1.CS Herediano          16 12  1  3  47-24  25  Champions
 2.CD Saprissa           16  8  1  7  31-20  17
 3.CS Cartaginés         16  7  3  6  35-30  17
 4.LD Alajuelense        16  7  3  6  36-35  17
 5.Orión FC              16  2  0 14  16-56   4

15 Alberto Armijo (Cartaginés)

Herediano squad:
Hérberth Ulloa, Álvaro Cháves, Marcelo Villalobos, Álvaro McDonald, 
Carlos Marín, Danilo Montero, William Carpio, Guido Peña, 
Carlos Pantoja, Froilán Matamoros, Hernán Alvarado, Edgar Quesada, 
Rodolfo Ferguson, Sidney Brown, Manrique Quesada

NB: the same 5 clubs contested the Copa Asofútbol, in which Herediano, Saprissa
    and Orión reached the Triangular Final, won by Herediano thanks to defeating
    Saprissa 3-0 in the final match of the tournament on Dec 15.

Federación Championship 1961

Final Table:

 1.Carmen FC              4  3  1  0   9- 3   7  Champions
 2.CS Uruguay (Coronado)  4  1  2  1   8- 5   4
 3.SG Española            4  0  1  3   3-12   1

NB: after the championship, the two rival organisations were
    unified.  Whereas all 5 clubs from the rebel organisation
    were admitted to the 1962 championship, the three clubs 
    which had remained within the Federación had to play off 
    with the top 3 teams from the second division for just one
    place in the top level.  This playoff was won by Uruguay,
    so that championship winners Carmen were relegated to the
    second level.  Their 1961 championship was only recognised
    in 1999 by the Unión Nacional de Fútbol (Unafut) upon its



list of champions.

list of 2nd division champions.

About this document

Source: UNAFUT

Prepared and maintained by Gerardo Coto for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Gerardo Coto (
Last updated: 10 Jan 2020

(C) Copyright Gerardo Coto and RSSSF 2006/20
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.