Costa Rica 1992/93

First Stage.

 1. Herediano     33      45 pts          [Heredia]
 2. Alajuelense   33      40              [Alajuela]
 3. CartaginÚs    33      37              [Cartago]
 4. Puntarenas    33      37              [Puntarenas]
 5. Saprissa      33      35              [San Jose]
 6. Turrialba     33      34              [Turrialba]
 7. El Carmen     33      34              [Alajuela]
 8. Ramonense     33      30              [San Ramon]
 9. Perez Zeledon 33      30              [Perez Zeledon]
10. Limonese      33      26              [Limon] 
11. San Carlos    33      21              [Ciudad Queseda]
12. Guanacaste    33      16              [Liberia]
Top eight qualified for second stage in two groups. 
Second Stage

Group A

 1. Turrialba      6       7              [Turrialba]
 2. Herediano      6       7              [Heredia]
 3. Ramonense      6       7              [San Ramon]
 4. Puntarenas     6       3              [Puntarenas]

Group B

 1. CartaginÚs     6       7              [Cartago]
 2. Alajuelense    6       7              [Alajuela]
 3. Saprissa       6       5              [San Jose]
 4. El Carmen      6       5              [Alajuela]

Top two of each group qualify for final round

Final Round

results unknown.

Winners: CartaginÚs  
Other participants: Turrialba, Herediano, Alajuelense.

Championship Playoff

1st leg Herediano       2-0     CartaginÚs

NB: Herediano, winners of the regular championship, and CartaginÚs, who
    won the final round, were due to decide the title in Costa Rica, but
    the first leg went to the law courts and the second was suspended just
    before the half-time. Herediano won the first leg 2-0 but CartaginÚs
    claimed that the penalty with which they scored one of the goal was not
    valid. The foul was outside the area, and they had a TV-film to prove
    it. They handed the film to their lawyers to go to court, and sent a
    copy and fax to FIFA to get their opinion. Everything would have been
    settled if Herediano had got at least a draw in the second leg, but
    after 44 minutes a fan broke on the field and was manhandled by police,
    who where then stoned by spectators.
Herediano is champion 1992/93 after FA-decisions.  



list of champions.

list of 2nd division champions.

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Josef Bobrowsky for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Josef Bobrowsky
Last updated: 25 Jul 2019

(C) Copyright Josef Bobrowsky and RSSSF 1999/2019
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.