(West) Germany - List of Third Level Champions

A nationwide third level was inaugurated in the 2008/09 season.

3. Bundesliga champions 2008-now

2008/09   1.FC Union Berlin
2009/10   VfL Osnabrück
2010/11   Braunschweiger TSV Eintracht
2011/12   SV Sandhausen
2012/13   Karlsruher SC
2013/14   1.FC Heidenheim
2014/15   DSC Arminia Bielefeld 
2015/16   Dynamo Dresden
2016/17   MSV Duisburg
2017/18   1.FC Magdeburg      
2018/19   VfL Osnabrück
2019/20   FC Bayern München II (ineligible for promotion)
2020/21   Dynamo Dresden
2021/22   1.FC Magdeburg

NB: the runners-up are promoted automatically as well, the third-placed team 
    play off against the 16th team in the 2. Bundesliga.
    The following teams also earned promotion in addition to the champions:

          runners-up                    third
2008/09   Fortuna Düsseldorf            SC Paderborn 07 (after playoff)
2009/10   FC Erzgebirge Aue             FC Ingolstadt 04 (after playoff)
2010/11   FC Hansa Rostock              Dynamo Dresden (after playoff)
2011/12   VfR Aalen                     Jahn Regensburg (after playoff)
2012/13   DSC Arminia Bielefeld 
2013/14   RB Leipzig                    SV Darmstadt 98 (after playoff)
2014/15   MSV Duisburg
2015/16   FC Erzgebirge Aue             FC Würzburger Kickers (after playoff)
2016/17   Holstein Kiel                 Jahn Regensburg (after playoff)
2017/18   SC Paderborn 07 
2018/19   Karlsruher SC                 SV Wehen Wiesbaden (after playoff)
2019/20   FC Würzburger Kickers         Eintracht Braunschweig  
2020/21   FC Hansa Rostock              FC Ingolstadt 04 (after playoff)
2021/22   Eintracht Braunschweig        1.FC Kaiserslautern (after playoff)

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Karel Stokkermans for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Karel Stokkermans
Last updated: 15 Jun 2022

(C) Copyright Karel Stokkermans and RSSSF 2014/22
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.