East Africa - SportPesa Cup (Dar-es-Salaam)

Tournament organised by bookmakers SportPesa involving four clubs each from Kenya and Tanzania. Winners earn a friendly against Everton FC of Liverpool.
All matches at National Stadium, Dar-es-Salaam. Teams listed as hosts in quarterfinals are from Tanzania, guests from Kenya.


2017  Gor Mahia (Nairobi)          3-0 AFC Leopards (Nairobi)
2018  Gor Mahia (Nairobi)          2-0 Simba (Dar-es-Salaam)
2019  Kariobangi Sharks (Nairobi)  1-0 Bandari (Mombasa)


NB: first edition; officially known as SportPesa Supercup.

[Jun 5]
Singida United         0-0 AFC Leopards           [4-5 pen]
Young Africans         0-0 Tusker                 [4-2 pen]
[Jun 6]
Simba                  0-0 Nakuru All Stars       [4-5 pen]
Jang'ombe Boys         0-2 Gor Mahia              

Semifinals [Jun 8]          
Young Africans         0-0 AFC Leopards           [2-4 pen]
Gor Mahia              2-0 Nakuru All Stars
Final [Jun 11]
Gor Mahia              3-0 AFC Leopards           
[Jul 13, Dar-es-Salaam, National Stadium]
Gor Mahia              1-2 Everton                
  [Jacques Tuyisenge; Wayne Rooney, Kieran Dowell]


NB: second edition; officially known as SportPesa Supercup.

[Jun 3]
Young Africans         1-3 Kakamega Homeboyz       
JKU                    0-3 Gor Mahia              
[Jun 4]
Simba                  0-0 Kariobangi Sharks      [3-2 pen]
Singida United         0-0 AFC Leopards           [4-2 pen]
Semifinals [Jun 7]
Simba                  0-0 Kakamega Homeboyz      [5-4 pen]
Singida United         0-2 Gor Mahia              
Third Place Match [Jun 10]
Singida United         1-1 JKU                    [4-1 pen]
NB: unclear why JKU featured in this match

Final [Jun 10]
Simba                  0-2 Gor Mahia              
[Nov 6, Liverpool, Goodison Park]
Everton                4-0 Gor Mahia              
  [Ademola Lookman, Kieran Dowell, Nathan Broadhead, Oumar Niasse]


NB: third edition

[Jan 22]
Singida United         0-1 Bandari                
Young Africans         2-3 Kariobangi Sharks      
[Jan 23]
Mbao                   1-1 Gor Mahia              [4-3 pen]
Simba                  2-1 AFC Leopards           
Semifinals [Jan 25]
Mbao                   0-0 Kariobangi Sharks      [5-6 pen]
Simba                  1-2 Bandari                

Third Place Match [Jan 27]
Simba                  0-0 Mbao                   [5-3 pen]
Final [Jan 27]
Kariobangi Sharks      1-0 Bandari                

[tba, summer 2019]
Kariobangi Sharks       -  Everton                

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: MHans Schöggl
Last updated: 28 Feb 2019

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2019
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.