El Salvador - Divisional Moves Between First and Second Division

SEASON    PROMOTED                     RELEGATED

[for every season, the teams promoted to the first division before 
 the start of the season and those relegated at the end of the season
 are listed]

1950/51      none                      Águilas
1951/52      no promotion                no relegation
1952/53      no promotion                no relegation
1953/54      no promotion                no relegation 
1955      Once Municipal
          Asturias                     Asturias
1955/56   Guardia Nacional             Leones
1956/57   H-13                         H-13
1957/58   Leones                       L.A. Firpo
          Universidad                  Universidad
1959      Atlético Constancia  	       Independiente
1960/61   L.A. Firpo                   Leones
1961/62   Quequeisque  	               Santanita
1962      Telecomunicaciones  	       L.A. Firpo 
1963/64   Universidad                  C.D. Dragón
1964      Gatos de Monterrey           Gatos de Monterrey
1965/66   Adler                        Quequeisque
1966/67   Leones                       Atlante
1967/68   L.A. Firpo                   L.A. Firpo      
1969      Atlante                        no relegation
1970        no promotion               Once Municipal 
1971      U.C.A. 
          Excelsior                    U.C.A.
1972      Municipal Limeño             Adler
1973      L.A. Firpo                   Excelsior
1974/75   C.D. Platense                Sonsonate
          Negocios Internacionales
1975/76   A.N.T.E.L.                   Juventud Olimpica
          Tapachulteca 	               Municipal Limeño
1976/77   Fuerte Aguilares             Fuerte Aguilares
1977/78   C.D. Dragón                    no relegation
1978/79   C.D. Santiagueño             Juventud Olimpica
1979/80   Chalatenango                 Once Municipal
1980/81   Once Lobos                   C.D. Dragón
1981      Universidad                    no relegation
1982      Agave                        C.D. Santiagueño  
1983      A.D.E.T.                     A.D.E.T.
1984      U.C.A.                       Independiente
1985      C.E.S.S.A.                     no relegation
1986/87   A.D.O.C.                     Soyapango
          Acajutla                     Universidad
                                       José Maria Gondra
1987/88   Cojutepeque                  Once Lobos
1988/89   A.D.E.T.                     A.D.E.T.
1989/90   C.D. Dragón                  Chalatenango
1990/91   Fuerte San Francisco         C.D. Dragón
1991/92   Baygon-A.D.E.T.              Metapán
1992/93   Apaneca                      Fuerte San Francisco
1993/94   Municipal Limeño  	       Apaneca
1994/95   El Roble                     Cojutepeque
1995/96   C.D. Dragón                  Tiburones
1996/97   Once Lobos                   Once Lobos
1997/98   Sonsonate                    El Roble
1998/99   Santa Clara                  Sonsonate
1999/00   Juventud Olimpica Metalio    Juventud Olimpica Metalio 
2000/01 A Atlético Balboa              Santa Clara
2000/01 C San Luis                     San Luis
2001/02   Isidro-Metapán               Atlético Marte
2002/03   C.D. Arcense                 C.D. Dragón
2003/04   Chalatenango                 Chalatenango (*r)
                                       C.D. Arcense
2004/05   Once Municipal               Municipal Limeño (*r)
          Once Lobos (*p)              Once Lobos
2005/06   Vista Hermosa                Atlético Balboa
          Coca Cola (*p) (*s)
2006/07   Independiente Nacional 1906

(*p) promoted after a playoff against a top level club
(*r) relegated after a playoff against a second level club
(*s) sold their top level place to Chalatenango

NB: 2000/01 is the only season in which a team was relegated and promoted
    at the half-way stage between Apertura and Clausura;
    Ajacutla were renamed Tiburones;
    A.D.E.T. sold their license to San Salvador;
    several other teams must have been relegated under another name
    than under which they were promoted (e.g. Negocios Internacionales,
    A.N.T.E.L., Tapachulteca, C.E.S.S.A., A.D.O.C. and others) or sold 
    their license

About this document

Source: Primera División de Fútbol Profesional

Prepared and maintained by Karel Stokkermans for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Karel Stokkermans
Last updated: 28 Mar 2008

(C) Copyright Karel Stokkermans and RSSSF 2006/08
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.