England Tour of British Caribbean 1959

The BCFA was founded in January 1957; affiliated territories were Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago,
Barbados, British Guiana, Grenada, St Vincent, and Dominica. In 1959 the BCFA selected a 
representative team to visit England, partly with the long-term motive of uniting the individual teams
of the territories as a footballing equivalent of the West Indies cricket team (though it should be 
noted that British Guiana was not part of the Federation of the West Indies, which existed from 1958 to 1962,
so that strictly speaking this was not a West Indies football team).

This British Caribbean team is not to be confused with the "Caribbean All-Stars" team, which had been
selected from all Caribbean territories (not only British) for occasional matches by the Caribbean
Football Association (and later the Caribbean Football Union) since 1952.

The BCFA team left from Port of Spain aboard the m/v Willemstad on 17th August, and arrived in 
England on 30th August.  They played in navy blue shirts with gold trim, and white shorts.
The overall tour record was: P17 W4 D0 L13 F27 A63.

Manager: Eric James (Trinidad/Tobago)
Assistant manager: George Abrahams (Jamaica)
Coaches: Noel Pouchet (Trinidad/Tobago) and Harold Hobbis (England)
Liaison officer: Colonel Charles F. Linnitt (England)
 Pat Gomez [c] [Trinidad/Tobago]
 Rawlins 'Cax' Baptiste [Trinidad/Tobago]
 Walter Chevannes [Jamaica]
 Tyrone de la Bastide [Trinidad/Tobago]
 Willie Rodriguez [Trinidad/Tobago]
 Hubert Braithwaite [British Guiana]
 Karl Largie [Jamaica]
 Monty Hope [British Guiana]
 Noel Daniel [Trinidad/Tobago]
 Doyle Griffith [Trinidad/Tobago]
 Eddie Aleong [Trinidad/Tobago]
 Len Leggard [Trinidad/Tobago]
 Ken East [Jamaica]
 Owen Parker [Jamaica]
 Sydney Bartlett [Jamaica]
 Anthony Hill [Jamaica]
 George Green [British Guiana]
 Ron Gray [Trinidad/Tobago]
 Alvin Corneal [Trinidad/Tobago]
 Compton Julian [British Guiana]
 Reggie Haynes [Barbados]

DATE  VENUE         OPPONENT               SCORE        BCFA GOALSCORERS (where known)
 1- 9 St Austell    Cornwall FA XI          1-0* BCFA
 3- 9 Penzance      Cornwall FA XI          2-1  BCFA   Haynes
 7- 9 Weymouth      Dorset FA XI            4-2  BCFA   Parker, Bartlett
10- 9 London        Isthmian League XI      3-1  BCFA   Gray
12- 9 Wealdstone    Athenian League XI      7-2  BCFA   ?
16- 9 Spalding      Spalding United FC      0-3  BCFA   Parker, East, Haynes
19- 9 Wisbech       Wisbech Town FC         5-4  BCFA   Gray, Parker x2, Julian
23- 9 King's Lynn   King's Lynn FC          3-1  BCFA   Parker
25- 9 Ely           Ely City FC             1-2  BCFA   Haynes, Corneal
30- 9 Newmarket     Newmarket Town FC       1-3  BCFA   East x2, Parker
 3-10 Peterborough  Peterborough United FC  4-1  BCFA   ?
 7-10 Barking       Barking FC              1-2  BCFA   Corneal, Haynes
10-10 Ipswich       Great Britain Olympic   7-2  BCFA   Parker x2
12-10 Bromsgrove    Bromsgrove Rovers FC    5-0  BCFA
14-10 London        Crystal Palace FC      11-1  BCFA   own-goal (Noakes)
17-10 Oxford        Pegasus FC              3-1  BCFA   East
21-10 London        Millwall FC             5-1  BCFA   East

* the first tour match was only 80 minutes in duration.

About this document

Sources: The Times, The Guardian, Jamaica Gleaner

Prepared and maintained by Neil Morrison for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Neil Morrison
Last updated: 10 Dec 2010

(C) Copyright Neil Morrison and RSSSF 2010
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.