Aryan Gymkhana XI (India) tour of Malaya and Singapore 1949

The team was initially reported in Malayan sources as an All-India team 
(i.e. a national team of India), but was in fact the Aryan Gymkhana club 
reinforced with some players from other clubs in India.
There were a few players in the squad who had played in the 1948 Indian 
Olympic team.

Managers: N.R. Murthy, B. Ramaswamy.
Goalkeepers: Berland Anthony, Sanjiva
Full backs: Mohinder Singh, Constantine Manuel, Marakar Joseph Rathnam [c]
Halfbacks: Gurubaksh Singh, Ghulam Khader, Govind, Arickraj
Forwards: Nataraj Vajaravelu, Deshmukh Bhimrao, Ramu Parab, 
          K.M.P. Ghulam Rasool, V.N.Thomas, Joseph Anthony


Overall record: P19 W11 D6 L2
All matches were 60 minutes in duration.

26-10 Singapore     Singapore Sino-Malays          2-2 Aryan Gymkhana XI
30-10 Singapore     All-Malayan Indians            1-2 Aryan Gymkhana XI
 1-11 Singapore     Singapore Combined Services    3-3 Aryan Gymkhana XI
 3-11 Singapore     Singapore XI                   1-3 Aryan Gymkhana XI *
 5-11 Singapore     Singapore Civilians            2-4 Aryan Gymkhana XI
 8-11 Singapore     All-Singapore                  0-1 Aryan Gymkhana XI 
10-11 Seremban      Negri Sembilan State           1-2 Aryan Gymkhana XI 
12-11 Kuala Lumpur  Selangor State                 1-2 Aryan Gymkhana XI
13-11 Kuala Lumpur  TPCA                           0-4 Aryan Gymkhana XI +
16-11 Kuala Lumpur  All-Selangor                   1-3 Aryan Gymkhana XI
18-11 Ipoh          Perak State                    1-5 Aryan Gymkhana XI
20-11 George Town   Penang State                   1-1 Aryan Gymkhana XI
22-11 George Town   Penang Chinese FA              1-0 Aryan Gymkhana XI
25-11 Alor Star     Kedah State                    0-0 Aryan Gymkhana XI
27-11 George Town   Penang State                   2-1 Aryan Gymkhana XI
 3-12 Kuala Lumpur  Selangor Chinese RC            1-3 Aryan Gymkhana XI
 4-12 Seremban      Lien Hwa (Malayan Chinese XI)  3-3 Aryan Gymkhana XI
 6-12 Ipoh          Malayan Chinese FA             1-1 Aryan Gymkhana XI
 8-12 George Town   Malayan Indians                1-2 Aryan Gymkhana XI

* Singapore XI = Combined Europeans, Eurasians, and Indians
+ TPCA = Tamilian Physical Culture Association (Selangor league champions)

About this document

Sources: Straits Times, Singapore Free Press

Thanks to Frank Rankmore

Prepared and maintained by Neil Morrison for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Neil Morrison
Last updated: 6 Apr 2011

(C) Copyright Neil Morrison and RSSSF 2011
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.