Copa Héctor Gómez

Played on five occasions between 1935 and 1943 between Argentina and Uruguay. Decided by a single match in Uruguay and contested in parallel with the Copa Juan Mignaburu (played in the same years as a single match in Argentina).

Héctor Ridavavia Guillermo Gómez Sanguinetti was president of Montevideo Wanderers FC, Uruguayan football association and Conmebol.

Players: Nationals of Uruguay or Argentina, respectively.
Also, foreigners with 6 years playing in the association they represented.
The holder retained the cup in case of draw.
The Uruguayan Ministry of External Affairs donated the cup in 1938.

Year   Winner

1935     not awarded
1936   Uruguay
1938   Argentina
1940   Uruguay
1943   Argentina
Number of titles

Argentina   2
Uruguay     2

Copa Héctor Gómez 1935
18 Jul Montevideo         Uruguay   1-1 Argentina

NB: cup not awarded.

Copa Héctor Gómez 1936
20 Sep Montevideo         Uruguay   2-1 Argentina

Copa Héctor Gómez 1938

12 Oct Montevideo         Uruguay   2-3 Argentina

Copa Héctor Gómez 1940
18 Jul Montevideo         Uruguay   3-0 Argentina

Copa Héctor Gómez 1943
 4 Apr Montevideo         Uruguay   0-1 Argentina

About this document

Prepared and maintained by José Luis Pierrend and Osvaldo José Gorgazzi for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: José Luis Pierrend and Osvaldo José Gorgazzi
Last updated: 9 Nov 2022

(C) Copyright José Luis Pierrend, Osvaldo José Gorgazzi and RSSSF 1998/2022
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.