Honduras - List of Second Level Champions

Liga de Ascenso is the second division of Honduran football; it was founded on 17 December 1979 as Segunda División and renamed Liga de Ascenso on 21 July 2002. The league is currently divided into 4 groups: Zona Norte y Atlántica, Zona Norte y Occidente, Zona Centro y Sur, Zona Sur y Oriente. The top 2 teams of each group qualify for the liguilla (play-offs).
Up until 2004, champions were awarded automatic promotion.
Season    Champions              Runners-up              Semifinalists 

1966      Atlético Indio    
1967      Victoria    
1968      Lempira    
1969      Atlético Español    
1970      Troya    
1971      Universidad            Victoria   
1972        cancelled    
1973      Federal    
1974      Atlántida    
1975      Campamento    
1976      Victoria               Curacao   
1977      Tiburones    
1978      Atlético Portuario    
1979      Atlético Fusep         Juventud Ribereña   
1980      Independiente    
1981      Dandy    
1982      Platense    
1983      Sula                   Independiente   
1984      Tela Timsa             Independiente   
1985      E.A.C.I.    
1986      Universidad    
1987      Curacao    
1988      Súper Estrella    
1989      Tela Timsa    
1990      Atlético Indio    
1991      Real Maya    
1992      Deportes Progreseño    
1993      Broncos    
1994      Independiente    
1995      Universidad    
1996      Palestino    
1998      Alianza FC             Real Sociedad 
1999      Federal                Social Sol   
1999/00   Deportes Savio         Aguán Valle   
2000/01   Real Maya              Real Comayagua          Real Sociedad, Independiente 
2001/02   Honduras Salzburg      Parrillas One           Atlético Olanchano, Real Sociedad 
2002/03   Atlético Olanchano     Deportes Savio          Social Sol, Valencia 
2003/04   FC Municipal Valencia  Hispano                 Independiente, Atlético Esperanzano 
2004/05 A Deportes Savio         Social Sol              Arsenal, Deportes Concepción 
2004/05 C Hispano                Deportes Savio   
2005/06 A Atlético Olanchano     Juticalpa   
2005/06 C Lenca                  Real Juventud           Olimpia B, Atlético Olanchano 
2006/07 A Deportes Savio         Arsenal                 Real Juventud, Lenca 
2006/07 C Arsenal                Cruz Azul               Atlético Esperanzano, Deportes Savio 
2007/08 A Real Juventud          Arsenal                 Unión Ájax, Olimpia Occidental 
2007/08 C Real Juventud          Social Sol              Motagua B, Olimpia B 
2008/09 A Atlético Gualala       Municipal Silca         Unión Ájax, Necaxa 
2008/09 C Necaxa                 Social Sol              Olimpia Occidental, Atlético Olanchano 
2009/10 A Necaxa                 Atlético Choloma        Social Sol, Olimpia Occidental 
2009/10 C Necaxa                 Independiente           Atlético Choloma, Real Juventud 
2010/11 A Parrillas One          Yoro                    Atlético Municipal, Atlético Esperanzano 
2010/11 C Atlético Choloma       Real Sociedad           Yoro, Atlético Municipal 
2011/12 A Real Sociedad          Atlético Municipal      Hispano, Parrillas One 
2011/12 C Parrillas One          Real Sociedad           Juticalpa, UPN 
2012/13 A Juticalpa              Atlético Municipal      Yoro, Honduras 
2012/13 C Parrillas One          Yoro                    Juticalpa, UPN 
2013/14 A Honduras               Atlético Choloma 
2014/15 A Juticalpa              UPN                     Atlético Municipal, Social Sol 
2014/15 C Juticalpa              Atlético Independiente  Atlético Limeño
2015/16 A Social Sol             Deportes Savio
2015/16 C Parrillas One          Alianza
2016/17 A Lepaera FC             Yoro FC
2016/17 C Lobos UPNFM            Villanueva FC
2017/18 A INFOP                  Villanueva FC
2017/18 C INFOP [*]              Villanueva FC
2018/19 A Real Sociedad          San Juan
2018/19 C Olancho                Santos FC
2019/20 A Pinares                Santos FC
2019/20 C Delicias               Santos FC

NB: A = Apertura,  C = Clausura
[*] renamed Real de Minas following promotion in 2018

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 28 Oct 2021

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2013/21
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.