Ireland - List of Women Champions

The oldest ladies team is Benfica LFC (Waterford), founded 1965.
A women's national league was first organised by the FAI in 1973, for which a dozen clubs (Dundalk, Finn Harps, Cork Celtic, Limerick, Sligo Rovers, Benfica (Waterford), Evergreen (Kilkenny), Avengers (Dublin), Cahir Park (Tipperary), Beejays (Galway), Happy Wanderers (Galway) and Wasps (Galway)) were invited; later also Elms United (Galway) were invited and they hosted Cahir Park in the very first Ladies League of Ireland match on March 4, 1973 (Cahir Park won 1-0; matches were played over 2x35 minutes). The league featured seven clubs in 1979 but was discontinued in the eighties.
It was relaunched in April 1987 (matches 2x40 minutes) with participants including Cork Rangers, Cork Celtic, Benfica, Greenpark (Limerick) and Dublin Castle. However, it lasted just three seasons and was abandoned in 1989.
In 1994, the Leinster Ladies League and the Civil Service League merged into the Dublin Women's Soccer League (DWSL), consisting mostly but not exclusively of clubs from the Greater Dublin Area.
Season  Champions                       Runners-Up
Ladies League of Ireland (first)
1973    Limerick
NB: later seasons not known
Ladies League of Ireland (second)
1987    Cork Rangers 
1989    Dublin Castle               3-1 Greenpark (Limerick)
1988      not known

Premier Division
1994    Elm Rovers                      Verona FC
1995    Castle Rovers                   Welsox FC
1996    Castle Rovers                   O'Connell Chics
1997    Saint Patrick's Athletic        Shamrock Rovers        
1998    Shamrock Rovers                 Shelbourne
1999    Shamrock Rovers                 Shelbourne
2000    Shamrock Rovers                 Shelbourne
2001    Shamrock Rovers                 Rathfarnham United
2002    Shamrock Rovers                 University College Dublin
2003    University College Dublin       Shamrock Rovers
2004    University College Dublin       Shamrock Rovers
2005    University College Dublin       Peamount United
2006    University College Dublin     
2007-10   apparently no national league organised
2011/12 Peamount United                 Raheny United
2012/13 Raheny United                   Peamount United
2013/14 Raheny United                   Peamount United
2014/15 Wexford Youth                   UCD Waves
2015/16 Wexford Youth                   Shelbourne
2016    Shelbourne                      UCD Waves
2017    Wexford Youth                   Peamount United
2018    Wexford Youth                   Shelbourne
2019    Peamount United                 Shelbourne
2020    Peamount United                 Shelbourne
2021    Shelbourne                      Peamount United                 
2022    Shelbourne                      Athlone Town               

NB: until 1993 there were two parallel leagues

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Roberto Di Maggio, Declan Hughes and Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Declan Hughes, Roberto Di Maggio and Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 16 Nov 2022

(C) Copyright Declan Hughes, Roberto Di Maggio Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2004/22
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.