Ireland Foundation Dates

League Clubs (as of 2005)

Athlone Town AFC                          1887
Bohemians FC (Dublin)                     1890
Shelbourne FC (Dublin)                    1895 
UCD AFC (Dublin)                          1895  
Shamrock Rovers FC (Dublin)               1901
Drogheda United FC                        1919
Cobh Ramblers FC                          1922 
Longford Town FC                          1924
Dundalk FC                                1926  
Derry City FC                             1928
Sligo Rovers FC                           1928  
St. Patrick's Athletic FC (Dublin)        1929
Waterford United FC                       1930 
Limerick FC                               1937
Galway United FC                          1937
Bray Wanderers AFC                        1942  
Finn Harps FC (Ballybofey)                1954
Kilkenny City AFC                         1966 
Monaghan United FC                        1979
Cork City FC                              1984
Dublin City FC                            2001 
Kildare County FC                         2002

Non-League Clubs

YMCA FC (Dublin)                          1893 
St James Gate AFC (Dublin)                1902
Railway Union (Dublin)                    1904 
Midland FCA                               1904
TEK United (Dublin)                       1904   
Bridgeville FC (Dublin)                   1920        [dissolved]
Castlebar Celtic FC                       1924  
Transport (Dublin)                        1935        [dissolved]    
Thurles Town FC                           1950 
Mervue United AFC Galway                  1960  
Belgrave AFC (Dublin)                     1963 
Brendanville FC (Dublin)                  1963
Park Villa (Dublin)                       1966
Lucan United FC                           1969     
Ballinhassig AFC                          1979
Dublin City University                    1981 
Ballingarry AFC                           1984        [dissolved]  
Firhouse Colmcille's (Dublin)             1990                  

About this document

Thanks to Fergus Desmond for additions and corrections

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl (
Last updated: 18 Jan 2006

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2004/06
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.