Independence Football Festival (Jamaica) 1965

Held at the National Stadium in Kingston.

 3- 8-65 Arsenal       3-1  Trinidad & Tobago      [HT 2-1]
           [David Court pen, Alan Skirton, Joe Baker / Bobby Sookram]
 5- 8-65 Jamaica       4-0  Trinidad & Tobago
           [Lascelles Dunkley 26', Art Welsh 35' 36', Oscar Black 76']
 7- 8-65 Jamaica       abd  Arsenal                [abandoned at 37' with the score at 0-2]
           [Alan Skirton x2]
           [Sent off: Lascelles Dunkley (Jamaica), Frank McLintock (Arsenal)]
           [Note: the match was abandoned by the referee due to players fighting and
                  spectators throwing bottles.]

=1.Jamaica              1  1  0  0  4- 0  2
=1.Arsenal FC (England) 1  1  0  0  3- 1  2
 3.Trinidad & Tobago    2  0  0  2  1- 7  0

Note: no overall winner was declared, and the Independence trophy (donated by Desnoes &
      Geddes Ltd) was not awarded.

Exhibition match:
 4- 8-65 Sugar Manufacturers Association  0-12  Arsenal  [at Monymusk]
           [Jim Mitchell OG, Joe Baker x6, Jon Sammels, George Armstrong x3, Les Shannon]

Arsenal then played three further matches on their Caribbean tour before returning to England:

10- 8-65 Curaçao       1-3  Arsenal    [at Willemstad]
           [George Sillé 11' / Terry Neill 25', Frank McLintock ~65', George Armstrong 87']
11- 8-65 Aruba         2-2  Arsenal    [at Oranjestad]
           [Benny Britten 25', Cheppie Ras 76' / Jon Sammels 20' pen, George Armstrong 29']
           [Note: Aruba missed a penalty at ~70']
15- 8-65 Trinidad & T. 2-6  Arsenal    [at Port of Spain]
           [? / Frank McLintock, George Eastham x3, George Armstrong x2]

Arsenal squad:
 Directors: Stuart C. McIntyre, Peter Hill-Wood
 Manager: Billy Wright
 Assistant manager: Les Shannon
 Players: Jim Furnell (GK), Bob Wilson (GK), Don Howe, Billy McCullough, Peter Storey,
          Frank McLintock, Ian Ure, Terry Neill, Jon Sammels, Alan Skirton, George E. Eastham,
          Joe Baker, David Court, George Armstrong.

Jamaica squad
 Coach: Jorge Penna (Brazil)
 Players: Dan Clarke (GK), Anthony 'Duke' Fuller (GK), Delroy Scott, Herkley Vaz, Larry Wynter,
          John Simmonds, Winthorpe Bell, Rudolph Pierce, Frank Brown, Paul Thomas, Henry Largie,
          Lloyd McLean, Art Welsh, Asher Welsh, Patrick Blair, Lascelles Dunkley [captain],
          David Sanguinetti, Oscar Black.

Trinidad & Tobago squad
 Leader: Ken Galt (president of the Trinidad Football Association)
 Coach: Conrad Brathwaite
 Players: Lincoln Phillips (GK), Jean Mouttet (GK), Ken Henry, Bertrand Grell, Henry Mulzac,
          Aldwyn Ferguson, Clem Clarke, Tyrone De La Bastide, Sedley Joseph [captain],
          Jeff Gellineau, Richard Nieves, Gerry Brown, Victor Gamaldo, Bobby Sookram,
          Ken Hodge, Alvin Corneal, Everald Cummings.

About this document

Sources included: The Daily Gleaner (Kingston), Amigoe (Willemstad), Observador (Oranjestad)

Prepared and maintained by Neil Morrison for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Neil Morrison
Last updated: 20 Feb 2014

(C) Copyright Neil Morrison and RSSSF 2014
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.