Sir Thomas Lipton Trophy (Torino)

This competition was organised in Torino, Italy, by the British industrial Sir Thomas Lipton, and involved clubs from Italy, England, Switzerland and Germany. Originally the English FA were invited, but they declined, and instead West Auckland FC, a club from the County of Durham, enter as English representatives.

The 'World Cup' was to be won by the first club to win it on two successive occasions, and West Auckland FC won both editions played. In January 1994 the trophy, kept at West Auckland Workingmen's Club, was robbed and never seen again.

A predecessor of this tournament was the Torneo Internazionale Stampa Sportiva 1908 organised by an Italian magazine.


Year      Winners                   Runners-Up
1909      West Auckland FC      2-0 FC Winterthur    
1911      West Auckland FC      6-1 Juventus FBC


Torino XI (Italy)
Stuttgarter Sportfreunde (Germany)
West Auckland FC (England)
FC Winterthur (Switzerland)

Semifinals [Apr 11]
Stuttgarter Spfr. 0-2 West Auckland
  [Whittington 10, Dickinson 88pen]
Torino XI         1-2 Winterthur
  [F.Berardo 13; Lang 25, 55pen]

Third Place Match [Apr 12]
Torino XI         2-1 Stuttgarter Spfr.
  [De Bernardi 35, Zuffi II 75; Kipp 15]

Final [Apr 12]
West Auckland     2-0 Winterthur
  [R.Jones 6pen, J.Jones 8]


Juventus FBC (Italy)
FC Zürich (Switzerland)
West Auckland FC (England)
FC Torino (Italy)

Semifinals [Apr ?]
Zürich        0-2 West Auckland
Juventus      bt  Torino

Third Place Match
Torino        2-1 Zürich

Final [Apr 17]
Juventus      1-6 West Auckland

Note: as successive winners of two editions, West Auckland FC retained
      the trophy.

About this document

Thanks to Davide Rota

Prepared and maintained by Andrea Veronese for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Andrea Veronese (
Last updated: 20 Nov 2004

(C) Copyright Andrea Veronese and RSSSF 2002/04
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.