Torneio Luis Aranha 1940

Tournament realized in a "Torneio Relāmpago"-style i.e. several 
short matches (20 minutes each) played in the same stadium during 
only one day.
    Botafogo (Brazil)
    Flamengo (Brazil)
    Independiente (Argentina)
    San Lorenzo (Argentina)
    Vasco (Brazil)
    All matches played on 14/01/1940.
    Tie-break criteria:
    1) Extra time (10 minutes)
    2) Number of corners
    3) Toss coin
First Round
Botafogo    0-0 San Lorenzo   (San Lorenzo classified on toss coin)
Vasco       1-0 Independiente
  [Orlando Fantoni]
Flamengo    bye
San Lorenzo 0-0 Flamengo      (San Lorenzo classified on number of corners)
Vasco       bye
Vasco       0-0 San Lorenzo   (Vasco won on number of corners)
CHAMPIONS: Vasco da Gama

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Mauro Prais for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Mauro Prais (
Last updated: 20 May 2004

(C) Copyright Maruro Prais and RSSSF 2004
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.