Malawi - List of Foundation Dates

NB: territory called Nyasaland during colonial era

189?   Mandala Athletic Club                                [first football club in Nyasaland]
1896   Zomba Gymkhana Club                      [on Apr  9]
       Blantyre Sports Club                     [on Jul  3]
1920   Indian Sports Club (Blantyre)
1923   Limbe Country Club
1928   Goans Club
1930   Michiru Castles (Blantyre)                           [founded as Hardware Stars]                   
1947   Moyale Barracks FC (Mzuzu)
1962   Be Forward Wanderers FC (Blantyre)                   [founded as Yamaha Wanderers]
1965   Nyasa Big Bullets FC (Blantyre)                      [founded as Blantyre City]
1967   Moyale Barracks FC (Mzuzu)
1976   Red Lions FC (Zomba)             
1977   Silver Strikers FC (Lilongwe)
1980   Azam Tigers FC (Blantyre)                            [founded as ADMARC Tigers]     
1983   Malawi International Transport Company FC (Lilongwe) [aka MITCO FC]
1984   Tigers FC (Blantyre)    
1988   Blue Eagles FC (Lilongwe)   
1995   EPAC United FC                                       [founded as Pakeeza FC]
1997   Mzuzu University FC
       Dwangwa United FC
2003   Mzuzu City Assembly FC  
       Ntopwa FC
2004   Mitundu Strikers  FC (Lilongwe) 
       Mzuzu United FC                                      [founded as Mzuzu Super Eagles]
2008   Blantyre United FC                                   [founded as ESCOM Reserves]
       Karonga United FC
2013   Chanco FC (Zomba)                        [on Jan 14] [Chancellor College of Malawi]  
2016   Lake Valley FC (Ntcheu)                              [aka Njuchi]
       Masters Security FC (Dezda)
2017   Dedza Dynamos  

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 1 Dec 2022

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2013/22
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.