Malta - Amateur Football

Amateur football in Malta was at its peak in the 1920s when the Malta Amateur Football Association (MAFA) and the Malta Sports Association (MSA) were founded. The MSA was formed in 1925 and survived well into the 1950s. The MAFA, founded 1922, served as second level league for a while and still exists.
Amateur League 1922/23

First Division (5 participating teams)

Banks Sports Association
Dockyard Clerical Staff
Malta Eastern Club

Second Division (6 participating teams, 3 known)

Constitutionals FC (Paola)
Sliema Juvenites

Amateur League 1923-1932

NB: Floriana Tigers won the amateur league on 3 occasions in the twenties; 
    Constitutional FC (Paola) were champions 1930/31 and 1931/32

MSA League 1944/45

Champions:  University SC
Runners-up: Salesians FT

MSA Cup 1944/45

{Apr 23]
Salesians             1-0 Dockyard CS 
{Apr 26]
University SC         8-2 RAF Civilian Staff 

[May 11]
University SC         3-2 Old Edwardians 
[May 15]
Salesians             2-1 Banks SA 

Final [May 20]
University SC         4-1 Salesians 

MSA League 1946

Champions: Salesian Sports Brigade (also "won cup tie")

Amateur League 2012-2014

NB: Zejtun Red Stars were champions 2012/13;
    Marsa White Stars were champions 2013/14

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 20 Jun 2014

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2014
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.