Malta - List of Cassar Cup Finals

The brain child of Chev. A. Cassar Torreggiani O.B.E., who also donated the cup, appropriately named after him, the Cassar Cup came into being in 1920/21 as a competition the proceeds of which went in favour of local charities. Pitting the two current top teams in the Civilian League (or the MFA league champions and the MFA knock-out competition winners) against the Naval and Military champions (or the winners of the United Services League and the winners of the United Services knock-out cup) and in subsequent years against representative sides from the three Services, who had a number of good players in their ranks, the charity competition became one of the major attractions in the local soccer calendar, especially in the Thirties. Resumed after the war years it continued to be an attraction but with the advent of the local clubs' participation in the UEFA Cup this competition lost much of its lustre, eventually forcing the ruling body to abolish this competition after the 1968/69 season.
Cassar Cup
Season     Winners                     Runners up              

1920/21    Floriana                1-0 RGA
1921/22      not held
1922/23    Floriana                1-0 RGA
1923/24    Sliema Wanderers        3-1 Gordon Highlanders
1924/25    Sliema Wanderers        1-0 Fourth Flotilla XI
1925/26    1st Battalion Dorsets   3-2 HMS Coventry
1926/27    Royal Artillery         4-2 HMS Malaya
1927/28    HMS Queen Elizabeth     2-1 Floriana
1928/29    HMS Barham              2-1 Floriana
1929/30    QRR 1st Btt. of Malta   3-0 First Flotilla
1930/31    HMS Revenge             2-1 Worcestershire Regiment
1931/32    Worcestershire Regiment 3-2 Sliema Wanderers
1932/33    Worcestershire Regiment and 4th Dest. Flottila    [shared; final not played]
1933/34    Sliema Wanderers        2-1 Hibernians
1934/35    Sliema Wanderers        1-0 Floriana   
1935/36    Sliema Wanderers        2-1 Floriana
1936/37    Floriana                7-0 Hibernians
1937/38    Sliema Wanderers        5-0 Melita
1938/39    Sliema Wanderers        3-2 Royal Navy    
1939/40    The Army                3-1 Sliema Wanderers
1944/45    Valletta                2-1 Floriana
1945/46    Sliema Wanderers        3-2 Royal Navy
1946/47    Ħamrun Spartans         2-1 Valletta
1947/48    1st Coast RMA           3-1 Ħamrun Spartans
1948/49    Ħamrun Spartans           5-1 Royal Navy
1949/50    Floriana                2-1 Ħamrun Spartans
1950/51    Army/RAF (combined)     3-1 Ħamrun Spartans
1951/52    Floriana                2-0 Ħamrun Spartans
1952/53    Floriana                2-1 Birkirkara
1953/54    Floriana                2-1 Ħamrun Spartans
1955/56    Sliema Wanderers        2-1 Floriana
1956/57    Sliema Wanderers        5-0 Ħamrun Spartans
1957/58    Floriana                2-1 Sliema Wanderers
1958/59    Valletta                2-1 Ħamrun Spartans
1959/60    Sliema Wanderers        1-0 Valletta
1960/61    Floriana                6-0 Sliema Wanderers
1961/62    Hibernians              1-0 Sliema Wanderers
1962/63    Hibernians              2-1 Floriana
1965/66    Valletta                3-1 Sliema Wanderers
1966/67    Sliema Wanderers        1-0 Hibernians
1967/68    Valletta            0-0 2-1 Sliema Wanderers

Number of Wins

Civilian Clubs

Sliema Wanderers          11 wins

Floriana FC               10 wins

Valletta FC                4 wins

Ħamrun Spartans            2 wins
Hibernians Paola           2 wins

Services Sides

Worcestershire Regiment    2 wins    (one shared with 4th Destroyer Flottila)

1st Battalion Dorsets      1 win     (Devonshire Regiment)
1st Coast R.M.A.           1 win
4th Destroyer Flottila     1 win     (shared with Worcester Regiment)
Army                       1 win
Army/R.A.F.                1 win
H.M.S. Barham              1 win
H.M.S. Queen Elizabeth     1 win
H.M.S. Revenge             1 win
Queen's Royal Regiment     1 win     (full name: Queen's Royal Regiment, 1st Battalion of Malta=
Royal Artillery            1 win

About this document

Sources included:, Pat's Football Blog,

Prepared and maintained by Oliver Haupt and Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Oliver Haupt and Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 4 Jun 2020

(C) Copyright Oliver Haupt, Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2006/20
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.