Malta - List of Christmas Cup Finals

When, because of hostilities during World War II, there was no possibility to continue the Christmas tourney, the Maltese FA launched a Knock-Out competition which was played during the Christmas period in 1939/40. The competition was resumed in 1966/67 as the famous Christmas tourney was no longer an attraction, partly because of Maltese clubs participating in the UEFA club cups. The last edition of the Christmas Cup was played between the two teams obtaining the best results against the Christimas tourney visitors.
Christmas Cup
Year      Winners                  Runners up               Result
1939/40   St. George's             RAF XI                   1-0
1940-66     not held
1966/67   Sliema Wanderers         FC Valletta              2-1
1967/68   Sliema Wanderers         FC Floriana              0-0
    rep   Sliema Wanderers         FC Floriana              1-0
1968/69   FC Floriana              FC Valletta              2-1
1969/70   FC Floriana              FC Valletta              2-1
1970/71   Sliema Wanderers         Gzira United             1-0

Number of Wins [number of lost finals in brackets]

Sliema Wanderers           3

FC Floriana                2  [ 1]

St. George's               1

FC Valletta                   [ 3]
Gzira United                  [ 1]
RAF XI                        [ 1]

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Oliver Haupt for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Oliver Haupt (oli at
Last updated: 1 Jan 2006

(C) Copyright Oliver Haupt and RSSSF 2006
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.