Malta - List of Sons of Malta Cup Finals

Donated by Maltese emigrants in New York, this massive trophy, named Sons of Malta Cup, was played for by the Champions and Trophy winners.

see the overview file for Maltese Super Cups.
Sons of Malta Cup
Year   Winners                  Runners up               Result
1968   FC Floriana              Hibernians Paola         3-2
1969   FC Floriana              Sliema Wanderers         2-0
1970   Hibernians Paola         Sliema Wanderers         0-0  [replay 2-1 aet]
1971   Hibernians Paola         FC Floriana              2-1
1972   Hibernians Paola         Sliema Wanderers         4-1
1973   Sliema Wanderers         FC Floriana              2-0
1974   FC Floriana              Gzira United             2-0
1975   FC Valletta              Sliema Wanderers         2-0
1976   FC Floriana              FC Valletta              1-1  aet  [replay 3-2]
1977   FC Floriana              Sliema Wanderers         6-0
1978   FC Floriana              FC Valletta              1-0
1979   FC Valletta              Hibernians Paola         3-2
1980   Sliema Wanderers         Hibernians Paola          -   [not played]
       Sliema Wanderers awarded a walk-over and the trophy.

Number of Wins [number of lost finals in brackets]

FC Floriana                6  [ 2]

Hibernians Paola           3  [ 3]

Sliema Wanderers           2  [ 5]
FC Valletta                2  [ 2]

Gzira United                  [ 1]

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Oliver Haupt for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Oliver Haupt (oli at
Last updated: 1 Jan 2006

(C) Copyright Oliver Haupt and RSSSF 2006
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.