Meridian Cup

During the 1996 European Championship, this tournament was established by
U.E.F.A. and C.A.F. to establish closer links between them.

It is contested by U-17 national teams: 4 from Africa and 4 from Europe. 
It is played alternately in a European and an African venue.


Year  Venue               Champion       Runner-up    Third
1997  Portugal            Nigeria        Spain        Portugal
1999  South Africa        Spain          Ghana        Portugal
2001  Italy               Spain          Italy        Portugal
2003  Egypt               Spain          Switzerland  France
2005  Turkey              France         Spain        Turkey


 3 Spain
 1 Nigeria


1997    Nigeria             3-2 Spain
1999    Spain               2-1 Ghana
2001      no final
2003      no final
2005      no final

           1st    2nd    3rd
Spain        3      2 
France       1             1      
Nigeria      1              
Ghana               1
Italy               1
Switzerland         1       
Portugal                   3
Turkey                     1

About this document

Prepared and maintained by José Luis Pierrend for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: José Luis Pierrend (
Last updated: 12 Feb 2005

(C) Copyright José Luis Pierrend and RSSSF 1999/2005
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.