Mexico - List of Second Level Champions

Segunda División

Season    Champion                   Runners-up 

1950-51   Zacatepec                  Zamora
1951-52   La Piedad                  San Sebastián
1952-53   Toluca                     Veracruz
1953-54   Irapuato                   San Sebastián
1954-55   Atlas (1)                  Cuautla
1955-56   Monterrey                  La Piedad
1956-57   Zamora (2)                 Morelia
1957-58   Celaya FC                  Monterrey
1958-59   Tampico                    Monterrey
1959-60   Monterrey                  Ciudad Madero
1960-61   Nacional de Guadalajara    Poza Rica
1961-62   U.N.A.M.                   Ciudad Madero
1962-63   Zacatepec                  Ciudad Madero
1963-64   Cruz Azul (3)              Poza Rica
1964-65   Ciudad Madero              Poza Rica
1965-66   Jabatos Nuevo León         Tampico
1966-67   Pachuca                    Laguna
1967-68   Laguna                     Zacatepec
1968-69   Torreón                    Zacatepec
1969-70   Zacatepec (4)              Jabatos Nuevo León
México 70 Unión de Curtidores (5)    Puebla
1970-71   San Luis                   Zamora
1971-72   Atlas                      U.A.N.L.
1972-73   Ciudad Madero              Irapuato
1973-74   U.A.N.L. (6)               U. de Guadalajara
1974-75   U.A. de Guadalajara        Irapuato
1975-76   San Luis (7)               Tecnológico de Celaya
1976-77   Atlante                    Querétaro
1977-78   Zacatepec                  Irapuato
1978-79   Atlas                      Cuautla
1979-80   Atletas Campesinos         Osos Grises de Toluca
1980-81   Atlético Morelia           CD Tapatío
1981-82   Oaxtepec                   Deportivo Tepic
1982-83   Unión de Curtidores        Zamora
1983-84   Zacatepec                  Jalisco
1984-85   Irapuato                   Pachuca
1985-86   Cobras Querétaro           Pachuca
1986-87   U.A. de Tamaulipas         U.A. de Queretaro
1987-88   Cobras de Ciudad Juárez    León
1988-89   Potros Neza (8)            Venados de Yucatán
1989-90   León                       Inter de Tijuana
1990-91   Atlante                    Pachuca
1991-92   Pachuca                    Zacatepec
1992-93   U.T. de Neza (9)           Tampico-Madero
1993-94   Tampico-Madero             Irapuato

(1) Also promoted Cuautla and Zamora
(2) Also promoted Morelia
(3) Also promoted Veracruz
(4) Also promoted Puebla 
(5) In the tournament Mexico 70 the championship was only honorific, Unión de Curtidores was not promoted 
(6) Also promoted Atlético Potosino and Unión de Curtidores
(7) In the next season, San Luis sold its license to Tampico.
(8) Sold its license to Veracruz
(9) In the next season change name to Toros Hidalgo and later Toros Neza

Primera A
In 1994 with the creation of Primera División "A" (second level league) was stipulated
the annual celebration of an All-Star Game between the best Mexican and Foreign players
of the league.
The celebration of the match was cancelled after 2004-05 season.

1994-95  Atlético Celaya            Pachuca
1995-96  Pachuca                    Gallos Blancos de Hermosillo
Winter   Tigres UANL                Atlético Hidalgo
Summer   Tigres UANL (P)            U.A.T.
Winter   Pachuca (P)                Real Sociedad de Zacatecas
Summer   Tigrillos UANL             Zacatepec
Winter   Venados de Yucatán         Chivas Tijuana
Summer   Unión de Curtidores (P)(1) Cruz Azul Hidalgo
Winter   Irapuato                   Zacatepec
Summer   Irapuato (P)               Cruz Azul Hidalgo
Winter   Gallos de Aguascalientes   La Piedad
Summer   La Piedad (P)              Toros Neza
Winter   Veracruz                   Real San Luis
Summer   Real San Luis (P)          Tigrillos UANL-Saltillo
Apertura Irapuato (P)               La Piedad
Clausura León                       CD Tapatío
Apertura Dorados de Culiacán (P)(2) Cobras de Cd. Juárez
Clausura León                       Dorados de Culiacán
Apertura Real San Luis (P)          Atlético Mexiquense
Clausura Querétaro                  León
Apertura Puebla                     Cruz Azul Oaxaca
Clausura Querétaro (P)              Indios de Cd Juárez
Apertura Puebla (P)                 Petroleros de Salamanca
Clausura Dorados de Sinaloa         León
Apertura Indios de Cd. Juárez (P)   Dorados de Sinaloa
Clausura León                       Dorados de Sinaloa         
Apertura Querétaro (P)              Irapuato
Clausura Mérida FC                  Club Tijuana     
Apertura Necaxa                     Irapuato 
Clausura Necaxa (P)                 León
Apertura Tijuana (P)                Veracruz
Clausura Irapuato                   Tijuana
Apertura Correcaminos UAT           La Piedad
Clausura León (P)                   Lobos BUAP
Apertura La Piedad (P)(3)           Dorados
Clausura Neza FC                    Necaxa  
Apertura Leones Negros (P)          Necaxa
Clausura Estudiantes UAG            Correcaminos UAT
Apertura Necaxa                     Coras Tepic
Clausura Dorados (P)                Atlético San Luis
Apertura FC Juárez                  Atlante
Clausura Necaxa (P)                 Mineros Zacatecas
Apertura Dorados                    Atlante
Clausura Lobos BUAP (P)             FC Juárez
Apertura Alebrijes                  FC Juárez
Clausura Cafetaleros (P)(4)         U. de G.
Apertura Atlético de San Luis       Dorados
Clausura Atlético de San Luis (P)   Dorados
Apertura Alebrijes                  Atlético Zacatepec
Clausura none
Apertura T.M. FC                    Atlante
Clausura Tepatitlán FC              Atlético Morelia
Apertura Atlante                    Tampico Madero
Clausura Atlético Morelia           Cimarrones
Apertura Atlante                    Celaya
Clausura Tapatío                    Atlético Morelia
Apertura Cancún FC                  Atlante


(P) Promoted to First Level
(1) Sold its license to Puebla
(2) In the next season change name to Dorados de Sinaloa
(3) Sold its license to Veracruz
(4) Cafetaleros could not be promoted because it is not a certified team; Lobos
    B.U.A.P. (relegated from first level) paid a compensation of 6 million USD
    and remained at first level
(5) Tournament Clausura 2020 abandoned after 8 rounds played due to Covid-19 pandemic.

About this document

Thanks to Martín Toscano (martinblue517 at

Prepared and maintained by Juan Pablo Andrés and Erik Francisco Lugo for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Juan Pablo Andrés and Erik Francisco Lugo
Last updated: 11 Jan 2024

(C) Copyright Juan Pablo Andrés, Erik Francisco Lugo and RSSSF 2006/24
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.