Namibia - List of Foundation Dates

NB: already in 1909, a football club existed in Lüderitzbucht (Lüderitz Bay)

191?  MTV Usakos                           [no later than 1911]
      SK Omaruru                           [no later than 1913; also listed as SV Omaruru]
1913  FK Windhuk                           [probably in June]
1916  Savages FC (Windhoek)
1922  SK Windhoek                          [founded as Fortuno; merged 197? with Ramblers FC
                                            and Talpark FC to Windhoek City FC]
1925  Ramblers FC (Windhoek)               [merged 197? with SK Windhoek and Talpark FC to
                                            Windhoek City FC]
1927  Tigers FC (Windhoek)                 [*] [played in the beginnings as Rigets]
192?  Atlantis FC (Walvis Bay)
      Cape Wanderers (Windhoek)
      Speedfire (Windhoek)
      Windhoek Thistles
      Wash-Away (Windhoek)                 [merged 1952 with Young Standards FC and Juveniles FC
                                            to African Stars FC]
      Cape Cross (Windhoek)                [dissolved 197?]
1929  Swakopmund Sport-Club SFC            [founded as Swakopmund FC]
193?  Namib Woestyn FC (Walvis Bay)       
      Tsumeb Sport and Recreation Club
1936  Blue Waters FC Kuisebmund (Walvis Bay)
1943  Juveniles FC (Windhoek)              [merged 1952 with Young Standards FC and Wash-Away
                                            to African Stars FC]
1945  Alabama FC (Mariental)               [dissolved 1965]  
194?  Chief Santos FC (Tsumeb)             [founded as Hungry Lions FC (Tsumeb), later called
                                            Etosha Lions FC]
      Spitfire (Tsumeb)
      Tsumeb Rangers                       [founded as Tsumeb Swallows]
      Carry Green (Otjiwarongo)
      Orlando Swallows (Otjiwarongo)
      Pepsi Cola (Otjiwarongo)
      Running Tigers (Otjiwarongo)
      Victorian FC (Keetmanshoop)
      Flying Eagles FC (Rehoboth)
      Talpark FC (Windhoek)                [merged 197? with SK Windhoek and Ramblers FC to
                                            Windhoek City FC]
1950  Gold Cross FC (Maltahöhe)
1951  SK Windhoek                          [on Mar 2; merger of TV Windhoek and SV 45 Fortuna Windhoek;
                                            merged 197? with Ramblers FC and Talpark FC to Windhoek City FC]
195?  Rocco Swallows (Windhoek)            [later merged with Jungle Boys to Ramkat]
      Jungle Boys (Windhoek)               [merged later with Rocco Swallos to Ramkat; dissolved 197?]
      African Boys (Keetmanshoop)          [founded as Rocking Boys] 
1952  African Stars FC (Windhoek)          [merger of Young Standards FC, Juveniles FC and Wash-Away]
      Life Fighters FC (Otjiwarongo)       [merger of United FC (Otjiwarongo) and Hungry Lions (Otjiwarongo)]
      Try Again [Keetmanshoop)             [founded as Sunshine; later merged with Keetmanshoop Blues
                                            to Try Blues, since 1972 Try Again]
1953  Spoilers FC (Okahandja)
      Blue Boys FC (Swakopmund)
1956  Farmers FC (Rehoboth)
      Okahandja FC
196?  Keetmanshoop Blues                   [later merged with Try Again to Try Blues; 1972 Blues dissolved]
      Try Blues (Keetmanshoop)             [merger of Try Again and Keetmanshoop Blues (until 1972)]
      Dark Cities Boys FC (Maltahöhe)      [founded as Blue Heaven]
      Golden Aces (Keetmanshoop)
      Poison Cobra FC (Tsumeb)
1961  Eleven Arrows FC (Walvis Bay)
      DTS Windhoek
1962  Real Fighters (Keetmanshoop)
1963  Black Africa SC (Windhoek)           [founded as Eleven Conquerers]
      Orlando Pirates FC (Windhoek)        [emerged from the veteran team of Cape Cross]
      Black Arrows FC (Keetmanshoop)
1964  Explorer XI FC (Walvis Bay)          [dissolved] 
1965  Flying Eagles (Mariental)
1966  Oshakati City FC
1967  Atlanta Chiefs (Swakopmund)
1968  Black Buffaloes FC (?)  [Zambezi region] 
1969  Black Stars (Maltahöhe)
1970  Highland Park (Tsumeb)
1971  Hungry Lions (Windhoek)
      Benfica FC (Tsumeb)   
1972  Robber Chanties FC (Khorixas)
      Impala Chiefs FC (Windhoek)           
197?  Royals (Tsumeb)                      [founded early 1970s] 
      Windhoek Swallows FC
      Windhoek Flames
      Accrue Chiefs (Windhoek)
      Sorento Bucs FC (Windhoek)
      Rocco Chiefs (Otjiwarongo)
      Sparta FC (Walvis Bay)
      Black Empire (Tsumeb)
      Windhoek City FC                     [merger of SK Windhoek, Ramblers FC and Talpark FC]
      Windhoek Thistles                    [dissolved 1978]
1972  Young Ones FC (Windhoek)             [dissolved]
1974  Desert Rollers SC (Gobabis)
      Cuca Tops (Rundu)                    [oldest football club from Rundu]
1975  Golden Bees FC (Outjo)               [founded as Arrows FC]
      Black Morocco Chiefs (Mariental)     [aka BMC]
1976  Rundu Chiefs FC
1978  Celtic FC (Swakopmund)
      Brazilie FC (Keetmanshoop) 
1980  African Warriors (Swakopmund)
1982  Youngsters FC (Lüderitz)
      African United FC (Ongwediva)
1983  Civics SC (Windhoek)                 [founded as Bethlehem Boys]
1984  Forever Thistles FC (Keetmanshoop)
      United Stars FC (Rundu)
1986  Flamingo FC (Rehoboth)
      Touch and Go FC (Otavi)
1988  Ntunguru FC (Shinyungwe)
1989  Young Chiefs FC (Oshakati)
1990  Mama Love FC (Ondangwa)
      Blue Birds FC (Outapi) 
199?  Azizzas FC (Rehoboth)
      Rehoboth FC
1992  UNAM Young Brave FC (Windhoek)
      Young Tops FC (Helao Nadfidi)
1993  Oshikuku Young Stars FC
      KK Palace Onamungudo Lions
1997  Mountain Rangers FC (Rosh Pinah)
      Tough Guys FC (Gobabis)
2001  Ajax FC (Windhoek)
2002  Julinho Sporting FC (Rundu)
2003  Mighty Gunners FC (Otjiwarongo)
      Fedics United FC (Keetmanshoop)
2005  FC Ongos (Windhoek)                  [founded as Tura Magic FC]
      Namib Eagles FC (Windhoek)
2006  Northern Star FC (Walvis Bay)
2011  Kom Haal Hulle FC (Leonardville)  
2012  Oryza Sativa FC (Katima Mulilo)
      LK United FC (Rundu?)
      SC Windhoek City
2013  Citizens FC (Windhoek)
      Young African FC (Gobabis)           [on Mar 1] 
      Davos FC (Windhoek-Katutura)
2015  Okakarara Young Warriors
2017  Okarindi Komutati FC (Opuwo)
      Athletic Club Football Academy (Windhoek)
2018  Kaltes Wasser Football Academy (Otavi)
2019  Henties Bay United SC

[*] "With the forced removal of the residents of the Old Location (of Windhoek)
    to Katutura, the White Authorities prohibited the use of the name Tigers
    (a ‘black' club) because it was linked with the resistance movement of the
    Old Location. Subsequently,  Rigets were formed. (If Rigets is rearranged,
    it translates into Tigers.)" [Boo 00]. Another source reports that the football
    section of Tigers was only established in 1942.

About this document

Thanks to Tom Weber for information about early club in Lüderitzbucht

Sources included: [Boo 00], newspaper "The Namibian"

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 24 Apr 2024

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2008/24
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.