Netherlands namechanges and mergers

Name changes

 Year Old name             New name
 ---- -------------------- --------------------
 1962 DWS/A                DWS
 1964 KFC                  FC Zaanstreek
      Leeuwarden           Cambuur
      SHS                  Holland Sport
 1965 BVV                  FC Den Bosch
      't Gooi              SC Gooiland
 1966 VVV                  FC VVV
      DHC                  DHC '66
      Zwartemeer           SC Drente
 1967 Helmondia'55         Helmond Sport
 1971 GVAV                 FC Groningen
      Go Ahead             Go Ahead Eagles
      PEC                  PEC Zwolle
 1972 DFC                  FC Dordrecht
 1973 Feijenoord           Feyenoord
      Cambuur              SC Cambuur
      HVC                  SC Amersfoort
 1974 Heracles             SC Heracles
      Fortuna Vlaardingen  FC Vlaardingen
 1977 Volendam             FC Volendam
      Heerenveen           SC Heerenveen
      Wageningen           FC Wageningen
 1979 FSC                  Fortuna Sittard
      FC Dordrecht         DS'79
 1980 FC Twente'65         FC Twente
 1985 FC VVV               VVV
 1986 AZ'67                AZ
 1988 FC Den Bosch         BVV Den Bosch
 1989 Cambuur              Cambuur Leeuwarden
 1990 DS'79                Dordrecht'90
 1991 PEC Zwolle           FC Zwolle
      VC Vlissingen        VCV Zeeland
 1992 FC Den Haag          ADO Den Haag
      BVV Den Bosch        FC Den Bosch
      SVV/Dordrecht'90     Dordrecht'90
 1994 ADO Den Haag         FC Den Haag
      TOP                  TOP Oss
 1996 FC Den Haag          ADO Den Haag
      RKC                  RKC Waalwijk
      RBC                  RBC Roosendaal
 1998 Heracles             Heracles Almelo


 Year New club             Old clubs
 ---- -------------------- --------------------
 1958 DWS/A                DWS and bvc Amsterdam
 1962 Roda JC              Rapid JC and Roda Sport
 1963 Telstar              VSV and Stormvogels
 1965 FC Twente'65         Sportclub Enschede and Enschedese Boys
 1967 Xerxes/DHC'66        Xerxes and DHC '66
      AZ'67                Alkmaar and FC Zaanstreek
      FC Den Bosch         FC Den Bosch and Wilhelmina
 1968 FSC                  Fortuna '54 and Sittardia
 1970 FC Utrecht           DOS, Elinkwijk and Velox
 1971 FC Den Haag          Holland Sport and ADO
 1972 FC Amsterdam         DWS and Blauw Wit
 1974 FC Amsterdam         FC Amsterdam and De Volewijckers
 1991 SVV/Dordrecht'90     SVV and Dordrecht'90

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Martijn Mooij for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Martijn Mooij (
Last updated: 27 Jan 2001

(C) Copyright Martijn Mooij and RSSSF 2001
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.