Nigeria Second Level Champions

The second level was played as a nationwide league until 1998. Between 1998 and 2011 winners of the North and South divisions played a one-game playoff to determine the overall Division champion. Since 2011 the champion has been determined by a mini-league between the four promoted teams.
Second Division
1979    Calabar Rovers (Calabar)
1980-82   not known
1983    Abiola Babes (Abeokuta)
1984      not known
1985    Leventis United (Ibadan)       [undefeated; third level winners 1984]
1986-90   not known
1991    El-Kanemi Warriors (Maiduguri)
1992    Concord (Abeokuta)
1993    Enyimba (Aba)
1994    Eagle Cement (Port Harcourt)   [later called Dolphins]
1995    Kano Pillars (Kano)
1996    Niger Tornadoes (Minna)   
1997    Kwara United (Ilorin)
1998    Kwara Stars (Ilorin)
1999    Udoji United (Akwa)
2000    El-Kanemi Warriors (Maiduguri)
2001    Kano Pillars (Kano)
2002    Dolphins (Port Harcourt)	
2003    Mighty Jets (Jos)
2004    Nasarawa United (Lafia)
2005    Ocean Boys (Brass)
2006    Zamfara United (Gusau)
2007    Sunshine Stars (Akure) 
2008    Warri Wolves (Warri)
National League
2009    Dolphins (Port Harcourt)	
2010    Crown (Ogbomosho)
2011    Wikki Tourists (Bauchi)
2012    Nembe City (Nembe)
2013    Giwa (Jos) 
2014    Gabros International (Nnewi)
2015    Niger Tornadoes (Minna)   
2016    Katsina United (Katsina)
2017    Go-Round (Omoku)
2018    Kada City Stars (Kaduna)
2019    Akwa Starlets (Uyo)
2020      abandoned
2021    Niger Tornadoes (Minna)   
2022    Bendel Insurance (Benin City)
2023    Heartland FC (Owerri)   
2024    Beyond Limits FA (Ikenne)       

About this document

Thanks to Djidenou Medjigbodo

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 14 Jun 2024

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2016/24
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.