New Zealand 1963

The FA Trophy, for teams representing provinces, continued to be the premier 
award in domestic football.

2nd Rothman's Cup:

A tobacco company, Rothman's of Pall Mall, donated a trophy for the a inter-club series featuring the 
local champions from Auckland, Wellington, Canterbury and Otago. 

This was the second edition of the first known national club championship and its winner could be 
considered the top club side in New Zealand.

It was also the last edition but this idea led finally to the reconstruction of the New Zealand 
football in the late 60s and the building of a true national league in 1970. 


Auckland   - North Shore Utd 
Wellington - Wellington Diamond Utd 
Canterbury - Nomads 
Otago      - King Edward TCOB 

North Shore Utd  0-1 6-2 Wellington D 
King Edward TCOB 2-1 0-0 Nomads 

North Shore Utd  3-1 King Edward TCOB 

In addition to Rothman's Cup, Chatham Cup, a New Zealand FA Cup 
style competition, was played (see below). 

Provincial Leagues

"Major" Associations (listed from north to south):

 1.North Shore United AFC
   Eastern Suburbs AFC
   Mt. Wellington AFC
   Mt. Roskill AFC
   Blockhouse Bay SC
   Grey Lynn Comrades   

 1.Diamond FC           19  12  4  3  65-39  28
 2.Miramar Rangers      19  10  3  6  54-41  23
 3.Railways             19   9  4  6  44-37  22 
 4.Northern             19   8  2  9  45-32  18
 5.Waterside AFC        19   8  2  9  47-58  18
 6.Marist Brothers OB   19   8  0 11  45-51  16

Difference in goals for (300) to goals against (258), wins (55) to defeats (44) and 
games (114) and points (125) and there' s also an uneven number of draws (15). 
Obviously more teams participated.

The full table can also be found here.


Winner: Nomads


Winner: KETCOB

"Minor" Associations:

Bay of Plenty

Winner: Kahukura 


Winner: Millerton Rangers  


Winner: Manurewa

Hawke's Bay

Winner: Napier Rovers       


Winner: Thistle 


Winner: Woodbourne  


Winner: Rangers  


Winner: Otangarei United       

Poverty Bay

Winner: Eastern Union 

South Canterbury

Winner: Northern Hearts     


Winner: Invercargill Thistle 


Winner: Moturoa


Winner: Hamilton Wanderers       


Winner: Lansdowne United   


Winner: Wanganui United   

West Coast

Winner: Cobden-Kohinoor       

Chatham Cup:  

Association      Entries    Representative
-----------      -------    --------------
North Island:
Northland           ?       Otangarei Utd
Auckland            ?       North Shore, Blockhouse Bay
Franklin            ?       Papatoetoe
Waikato             ?       Hamilton Technical OB
Bay of Plenty       ?       Kahukura
Poverty Bay         ?       Eastern Union
Taranaki            ?       Moturoa
Hawke`s Bay         ?       Hastings Utd
Wanganui            ?       Wanganui Utd
Manawatu            ?       St Andrews
Wellington          ?       Wellington Marist
South Island:
Nelson              ?       Rangers
Canterbury          ?       Nomads
Sth Canterbury      ?       Thistle
Otago               ?       Northern
South Island        ?       Invercargill Thistle

Basin Reserve, Wellington
North Shore United 3-1 Christchurch Nomads
 [Middleton, Maynard, McNicholl - Muirson] or
 [Oden 2, Maynard - Muirson]

North Shore United: Arthur Stroud, John Collins, Robert Gore, Ken
Armstrong, Warwick Ward, Derek Easto, Harold Russell, Tom McNicholl,
Alex Middleton, Peter Maynard, Peter Oden
Christchurch Nomads: Derek Chapman, Rean Cattle, Michael Rennell, Graeme
McKenzie, David Simmonds, George Donaldson, Paul McParland, Doug Ennis,
Robin Muirson, Tony Gowans, Graham Button

Referee: R.E. McDonald (Otago)



list of champions.

list of final tables.

all-time tables.

list of cup winners.

list of brown shield winners.

list of fa trophy winners.

About this document

Partial sources: Capital Soccer, [Smi 66], [Hil 91]

Prepared and maintained by Peter Kungler and Andre Zlotkowski for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Peter Kungler (peter dot kungler at roche dot com) and Andre Zlotkowski (
Last updated: 30 May 2004

(C) Copyright Peter Kungler, Andre Zlotkowski and RSSSF 2004
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.