New Zealand Foundation Dates

1886        North Shore United FC
1887        Ellerslie AFC Auckland
1888        North End United
1888        Roslyn-Wakari AFC Dunedin               [founded as Wakari AFC]   
1889        Petone SC
1893        Diamond United Wellington               [merged 1986 with Zealandia Wellington to Wellington United AFC]
1896        Green Island AFC
            Marist FC Wellington
1899?       Otago University FC Dunedin 
1900        Metro Mt Albert SC Auckland
1904        Ponsonby Mount Albert
1905        Porirua Viard United                    [founded as Hospital]
1906        Western Suburbs FC Porirua              [founded as Mental Hospital AFC]
1907        Miramar Nurma Rangers FC Wellington
1907?       Eden FC Auckland                        [merged 1997 with Mount Roskill FC to Three Kings United] 
1910        Canterbury Nomads United AFC Christchurch
            Canterbury Rangers AFC Christchurch 
            Dunedin City                            [founded as High School Old Boys]
1913        Christchurch Rangers
            Mosgiel Rangers 
            Hamilton Wanderers 
            Western AFC Christchurch                [founded as Swifts] 
1919        Onehunga Sports
1920        Dunedin Technical AFC                   [founded as King Edward Technical College Old Boys]
1921        Lower Hutt City AFC                     [merged 1970 with Railways]
1923        Comrades FC Auckland                    [merged 1952 with Grey Lynn FC to Grey Lynn Comrades United]
1924?       Kaiapoi Town AFC 
1924        Tamaki United AFC 
1925        Upper Hutt City AFC
1929        Stop Out SC Lower Hutt                  [founded as Moera Stop Out]
1930        Glen Innes
1931        Caversham AFC Dunedin
1934        Eastern Suburbs AFC Auckland            [merger of Tamaki United AFC and Glen Innes]
1939        Otago University AFC Dunedin
1942        New Plymouth Rangers AFC
            Railways Lower Hutt                     [merged 1970 with Lower Hutt City AFC]
1943        Point Chevalier AFC                     [merged 1989 with Grey Lynn Celtic to Western Springs AFC Auckland]
1944        WM Canterbury Woolston Christchurch
1945        Inglewood AFC
1948        Blockhouse Bay SC
            Cambridge SC
1952        Grey Lynn Comrades United               [merger of Comrades FC Auckland and Grey Lynn FC; 1986 merged
                                                     with Celtic Supporters Club to Grey Lynn Celtic] 
            Mount Wellington AFC                    [merged 1987? with Auckland University AFC to University-Mount Wellington AFC] 
1953        Wellington Olympic AFC                  [founded as Apollon AFC] 
1954        Zealandia Wellington                    [merged 1986 with Diamond United to Wellington United AFC]
1958        Manureva AFC
1959        Papakura City SC
            Papatoetoe FC 
1960        Pukekohe AFC
1961        Glenfield Rovers AFC
1962        Central United FC Auckland
            Nelson Suburbs 
1964        Halswell United AFC
            Kapiti Hearts AFC
1966        Melville United AFC Hamilton
1967        Burnside AFC Christchurch               [founded as Burndale United; merged 2011 with Avon United to FC Twenty 11]
1971        Manawatu United AFC Palmerston North
            Wellington City 
1972        Ferrymead Bays FC Redcliffs
            Wellington North AFC
1973        Napier City Rovers AFC
            Green Bay Titirangi SC 
            Otara Rangers Ngati Otara               [merged 1989 with Clover Park United to South Auckland Rangers AFSC]
1975        Clendon United AFC
            Otahuhu United Auckland   
1975?       Waikato United AFC 
1976        Bucklands Beach AFC 
1977        Albany United SC
1984        Beachlands Maraetai AFC 
1986        Drury FC 
            Wellington United AFC                   [merger of Diamond United and Zealandia Wellington]   
            Grey Lynn Celtic                        [merger of Grey Lynn Comrades United and Celtic Supporters Club;
                                                     merged 1989 with Point Chevalier AFC to Western Springs AFC Auckland]
1987        Hutt Valley United
            Waiheke United AFC 
1987?       University-Mount Wellington AFC         [merger of Mount Wellington AFC and Auckland University AFC] 
1988        Palmerston North Marist FC
1989        Waitakere City AFC
            Western Springs AFC Auckland            [merger of Point Chevalier AFC and Grey Lynn Celtic]   
            South Auckland Rangers AFSC             [merger of Otara Rangers and Clover Park United]
1995        Auckland Fencibles United AFC           [merger of Howick AFC and Pakuranga Town AFC]
            Avon United FC                          [merger of Shamrock and Riccarton; merged 2011 with
                                                     Burnside AFC to FC Twenty 11 Christchurch]
1996        Lynn-Avon United AFC                    [merger of Lyndale AFC and Avondale AFC]
            Wairarapa United Masterton              [merger of Masterton FC and Carterton]
            Queenstown Rovers FC
1997        Papatoetoe United SC 
            Three Kings United Auckland             [merger of Eden FC and Mount Roskill FC]
            Lower Hutt Soccer SGS Naenae
1998        Bay Olympic Soccer & Sports Club        [merger of Blockhouse Bay SC and Green Bay Titirangi SC] 
2000        Mangere United AFC
2002        Canterbury United FC Christchurch
2003        Team Taranaki New Plymouth
2004        Auckland City FC   
            Southern United FC                      [founded as Otago United FC]
            Team Wellington FC      
            Waitakere United    
2005        Hawke's Bay United FC Napier
2007        Wellington Phoenix FC
            Coastal Spirit FC Christchurch          [merger of New Brighton AFC and Rangers AFC]
2011        FC Twenty 11 Christchurch               [merger of Avon United and Burnside AFC]
2012        Cashmere Technical FC Christchurch
2015        Tasman United Nelson
2017        Southland United FC Invercargill

Women Club Foundation Dates

1915        Dallas & Watt (Dunedin)
            Lewis & Co. (Dunedin)
            Price & Bulleid (Oamaru)                [founded as J. Bulleid's & Co.; disbanded 1918]
            Mollison's (Dunedin)
            Mutual Stores (Dunedin)
            North Otago Hockey Club (Oamaru)        [aka Sports; disbanded 1917]
            Otago Polytechnic (Dunedin)             [disbanded 1918]
            Thomson & Beattie (Invercargill)         
1917        Kakanui                                 [disbanded 1918]
            Maheno Women FC                         [disbanded 1918]
1921 Jun    Aotea Ladies Football Club (Wellington) [disbanded Mar 1924]
     Jun    Birkenhead Ladies Football Club         [disbanded May 1923]
     Jul 27 Christchurch Ladies Football Club
            St George's Club (Wellington)           [aka Aotea Ladies FC Team B; disbanded 1923] 
            Tai Tapu  
            Timaru                                  [disbanded 1922]
1922        Christchurch Team  
1959        Wainuiomata FC
1975        Nomads United AFC Women
198?        Lynn-Avon AFC  
2002        Canterbury United Pride (Christchurch)  [founded as Mainland Pride]
2004        WaiBOP United (Hamilton)                [founded as Waikato FC; disbanded 2016]
            Southern United FC                      [founded as Otago United]

About this document

Source for foundation dates women clubs until 1922: Faller, H.: "Waltzing Down Under: soccer in Oceania before World War Two", 2018.

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 21 Oct 2021

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2004/21
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.