Uganda - List of Foundation Dates

1909        Budo Old Boys (Kampala)       
1911 Sep 11 Nsambya FC (Kampala)                                     [oldest existing football club of East Africa]
1936        Simba SC (Lugazi)                                        [founded as Army FC] 
1938        Railway African Club (Kampala)
1957 Oct    Express FC (Kampala)                                     [aka Red Eagles FC]
196?        Coffee United SC (Kakira)                                [merged 1997 with Kakira Sugar Works FC] 
1963        Kampala Capital City Authority FC                        [founded as Kampala City Council FC] 
1965        Uganda Police FC (Kampala)                               [played 1965-2006 in Jinja]
            Kakira Sugar Works FC                  
            Maroons FC (Luzira)                                      [founded as Prison FC (Kampala)]
            Uganda Commercial Bank FC                                [dissolved 2001]
1968        Uganda Peoples Defence Force Simba FC (Bombo)            [founded as Resistance FC; merged 2016 with
                                                                      The Saints FC (Kampala) to UPDF FC]
1969 Feb 20 Vipers SC (Wakiso)                                       [founded as Bunamwaya SC]
            Kinyara Sugar FC (Masindi)
1970        Nile Omuliro FC (Jinja)                                  [founded as Jinja Hot Stars; merged 2001 with Military
                                                                      Police (Kampala) to Nile FC/Military Police]
            Mbale Heroes FC                                          [founded as Gangama United] 
            Mbarara United FC
1971        Lugazi FC                                                [merger of Uganda Sugar Factory FC and SCOUL FC] 
1972        Umeme FC (Jinja)                                         [founded as Uganda Electricity Board SC (aka UEB)]
1975        SC Villa (Kampala)                                       [founded as Nakivubo Boys]    
1979        Paidha Black Angels FC
1980        Mvara Boys FC (Arua)
1982        Buikwe Red Stars FC (Mukono)
            Iganga Town Council FC
1984        Mutundwe Sandlanders FC (Kampala)                        [founded as Mutundwe Lions FC]
1985        Spear Motors FC (Kampala)                                [dissolved 1992]
1988        BN United (Buikwe)                                       [merger of Buikwe FC and Blue Bats FC (Jinja)]  
1989        Sharing Youth FC (Kampala)
1992        Ndejje University FC (Kampala)
1993        Villa International (Kampala)                            [split of SC Villa; 1997 merged with SC Villa]
1994        Water FC (Kampala)                                       [founded as Maji FC]
1996        Uganda Taxi Operator and Driver Association FC (Kampala) [aka UTODA FC]  
1997        Bright Stars FC (Mwererwe)                               [home town until 2014: Matugga]                       
            Uganda Revenue Authority FC (Kampala)                    [aka URA FC]
            Kosovo SC (Mukono) 
1998        Black Rhinos FC (Lira)
            Bugerere FC (Kayunga)                                    [founded as Kayunga Police FC]   
            Gamey Boys FC (Tororo)                                   [founded as Tororo Rock Stars FC]
1999        Masaka Local Council FC
            Horizon FC (Kabale) 
200?        Gulu United FC                                           [founded as Gulu Black Rangers FC]
2001        Children Restoration Outreach FC (Mbale)                 [aka CRO FC] 
            Victors FC (Kampala)                                     [dissolved 2013]
            Nile FC/Military Police (Jinja)                          [merger of Nile Omuliro FC (Jinja) and Military
                                                                      Police (Kampala); dissolved 2002]
            Super Cubs FC (Kampala)
2002        Entebbe FC                                               [founded as Entebbe Youth FC]
            PoP TV FC (Kampala)                                      [Power of Praise]   
2003        Hoima FC
            KJT Rwenshama FC (Kampala)
2004        Young Franciscans of Uganda FC (Lira)                    [aka Youfra FC]
2005        Boroboro Tigers FC                                       [founded as Boroboro Holy Hill FC] 
2006 Mar 13 JMC Hippos FC (Jinja)  
            Bukedea Town Council FC
            Proline FC (Buikwe)                                      [founded as Nalubaale FC]
2007 Jan  1 Tooro United FC (Fort Portal)                            [founded as Soana FC (Wakiso)]
2008        BUL FC (Jinja)                                           [Bidco Uganda Ltd.]
            Kiira Young FC (Kampala)
            Gorilla Highlands SC (Kisoro)                            [founded as Nyarusiza FC]    
            St Mary's FC (Nabweru)
2009        Hope FC (Kampala)                                        [aka Hope Doves]
            Kirinya-JInja SS FC (Jinja)
            Wakiso Giants FC                                         [founded as Artland Katale FC]
2010        Kitara Hoima FC (Hoima)
            Kiira Young FC (Kampala)
            Mbabara City FC                                          [founded as Citizens FC]
2011 Aug 19 SC Victoria University (Kampala)                         [aka SCVU] 
2011 Oct    Ondurapaka FC
            Lweza FC (Kampala)
            Masavu FC (Entebbe)
2012        Busoga United FC
            Kirinya-Jinja Senior Secondary School FC (Jinja) 
2013        Amuka Bright Stars FC (Lira)      
            The Saints FC (Kampala)                                  [merged 2016 with UPDF Simba FC to UPDF FC (Bombo)]
2015        Terra Nova FC (Kampala)
2017        Gaddafi FC (Jinja)  

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 7 Feb 2023

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2013/23
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.