South East Asia Trip of PSV 1971

P.S.V. were the first Dutch club to visit Indonesia (or indeed the former Dutch East Indies) when they played 3 matches there as part of a South East Asia tour in the summer of 1971.
Match in Malaysia

 9- 6 Kuala Lumpur      F.A.M. XI        2-5 P.S.V.           [HT 1-2]
        [14 Van der Kuijlen 0-1, 40 Zulkiffi Norbit 1-1, 44 Mulders 1-2, 48 Van der Kuijlen 1-3,
         60 Mulders 1-4, 70 Van den Dungen 1-5, 76 Shaharuddin 2-5; 
         Singapore papers credited both Van der Kuijlen goals to Devrindt;
         Merdeka Stadium; att: 16,000; note that the official Malaysia team was playing in the
         Jakarta Anniversary tournament at the time of the match]

Match in Singapore

12- 6 Singapore         President XI    0-13 P.S.V.           [HT 0-4]
        [Van den Dungen (4), Van der Kuijlen (2), Lubse (2), Hiddink (2), Mulders, Devrindt,
         Van Stippent; 
         local papers gave goals to Radović and Veenstra instead of Lubse and Van Stippent; 
         Jalan Besar Stadium; att: 10,000; note that the official Singapore team was playing 
         in the Jakarta Anniversary tournament at the time of the match;
         previous double digit loss for Singapore was a 0-10 vs Peru in 1965]

Matches in Indonesia

14- 6 Medan             P.S.M.S.         0-4 P.S.V.           [HT 0-3]
        [Van Tilburg 0-1, Van der Kuijlen 0-2, Devrindt 0-3, Hiddink 0-4;
         att: 40,000]
17- 6 Surabaya          Persebaya        1-8 P.S.V.           [HT 0-3]
        [N.N.; Van der Kuijlen (5), Devrindt, Strik, Kemper;
         att: 30,000]

20- 6 Jakarta           Indonesia        0-6 P.S.V.           [HT 0-2]
        [Van der Kuijlen 0-1, Van der Kuijlen 0-2, Hiddink 0-3, Schmidt Hansen 0-4,
         Mulders 0-5, Heyink 0-6]

Total Record P.S.V.:       5   5  0  0  36- 3  10

12 Van der Kuijlen
 5 Van den Dungen
 4 Hiddink
 3 Devrindt
 2 Lubse
 1 Heyink
   Schmidt Hansen
   Van Stippent
   Van Tilburg

Squad P.S.V.

Players (17):
Jan van Beveren, Johan Devrindt, Wim van den Dungen, Willy Heyink, Guus Hiddink,
Peter Kemper, Adrie van Kraay, Willy van der Kuijlen, Harrie Lubse, Eef Mulders,
Lazar Radović, Bent Schmidt Hansen, Jac. van Stippent, Pleun Strik,
Gerrit van Tilburg, Wietse Veenstra, Harry Vos
Trainer: Kurt Linder

About this document

Main source: [Wic 71]

Prepared and maintained by Karel Stokkermans for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Karel Stokkermans (
Last updated: 28 Oct 2023

(C) Copyright Karel Stokkermans and RSSSF 2012/23
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.