Saar - List of Champions

The Saar region (Saarland) was a separate member of FIFA 1947-1956 and played international matches 1950-1956. For three seasons 1948/49-1950/51 it had a separate football league before being re-incorporated into the (West) German football structure.

The strongest club from the region, 1.FC Saarbrücken, did not enter the Saarland league championship but played 'hors concours' in the French 2nd division 1948/49 following the withdrawal of AS Angoulême, and afterwards organised the Internationaler Saarland Pokal leaving the Saar league to their 2nd team (which won it 1950/51).

Starting from the 1951/52 season, the Saar league was incorporated into the German league structure as a second level regional league (under the Oberliga Südwest which 1.FC Saarbrücken re-entered after a 3-season absence, won with 6 points to spare, and went all the way to the final of the (West) German championship which they lost to VfB Stuttgart.

Ehrenliga Saar
1948/49 VfB Neunkirchen
1949/50 Sportfreunde Saarbrücken 
1950/51 1.FC Saarbrücken II 

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl (
Last updated: 29 Jan 2005

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2003/05
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.