Spain - Cup 1911

Played in Bilbao.

Participating Clubs:
Real Sociedad
Sociedad Gimnástica Española de Madrid
Athletic de Bilbao    
Español de Barcelona  
Fortuna de Vigo     
RC Deportivo (La Coruña)
FC Barcelona
Racing de Irún
Academia de Artillería 
Academia de Caballería de Valladolid
Academia de Ingenieros 
Academia de Infantería 

Before the start of the tournament, Real Sociedad, RC Deportivo and 
Academia de Ingenieros withdrew.


First Round 
[Apr 9]
Athletic de Bilbao      2-0     Fortuna de Vigo
Bilbao                  2-1     Academia de Artillería

[Apr 10]
Español de Barcelona    6-0     Academia de Infantería
Academia de Caballería  1-0     Racing de Irún
[Apr 12]
FC Barcelona            4-0     Sociedad Gimnástica Española  
Athletic de Bilbao      4-1     Bilbao

FC Barcelona were disqualified.

[Apr 14]
Athletic de Bilbao      2-0 *   Sociedad Gimnástica Española
  [Sociedad Gimnástica Española withdrew at halftime]
Español de Barcelona    w/o     Academia de Caballería
  [Academia de Caballería withdrew]

NB: there were many incidents, in particular protests against fielding
    foreign players, and withdrawals from the competition. 

Final [Apr 15]
Estadio Jolaseta, Bilbao
Athletic de Bilbao      3-1     Español de Barcelona
  [Zuazo, Guernica, Smith; scorer Español unknown]
  [Ref: Martyr]
Athletic: Astorquia, Arzuaga, Allenda, Yza, J.M. Belauste, Mendiola,
          R. Belauste, Zuazo, Guernica, Veith, Smith 
Español: Gilbert, A. Massana, Alvárez, Heredia, S.Massana, Buylla, 
         Barenys, Giralt, Neyra, Castillo, Sempere

Overview of Finals



About this document

Prepared and maintained by José Vicente Tejedor Carnicero and Carles Lozano Ferrer for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: José Vicente Tejedor Carnicero ( and Carles Lozano Ferrer (
Last updated: 13 Jan 2000

(C) Copyright José Vicente Tejedor Carnicero, Carles Lozano Ferrer and RSSSF 1999/2000
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.