Spain - Cup 1918

Participating Clubs:
Madrid FC (Champions of the region Centro)
Español de Barcelona (Champions of Cataluña)
Recreativo de Huelva (Champions of the region Sur)
Fortuna de Vigo (Champions of Galicia) 
Sporting de Gijón (Champions of Asturias) 
Real Unión de Irún (Champions of Guipúzcoa)          [*]
[*] merger of Irún Sporting and Racing Club de Irún

NB: because of incidents in the championship of the region Norte, the
    Federación Norte was divided into two: Guipuzcoana and Vizcaína.
    Athletic de Bilbao (champions of Vizcaya) declined to participate
    in the Torneo de Copa 1918 out of disagreemen with the regulations.


First Round

First Leg [Apr 8]
Español de Barcelona    3-0     Madrid FC

Second Leg [Apr 14]
Madrid FC               1-0     Español de Barcelona

Playoff [Apr 16]
Madrid FC               2-1     Español de Barcelona

[Madrid, May 7]
Real Unión de Irún      4-1     Sporting de Gijón
  [in one match]


First Leg [Apr 21]
Recreativo de Huelva    1-2     Madrid FC

Second Leg [Apr 28]
Madrid FC               4-0     Recreativo de Huelva

[Madrid, May 9]
Real Unión de Irún      4-1     Fortuna de Vigo
  [in one match]

Final [May 12]
Estadio de O'Donnell, Madrid
Real Unión de Irún      2-0     Madrid FC
  [half-time: 1-0]
  [Legarreta, Patricio]
  [Ref: Torrens]
Unión: Muguruza, Carrasco, Múgica, Emery, René Petit, Eguiazábal, Alonso, 
       Legarreta, Patricio, Amantegui, Acosta
Madrid: Teus, E. Aranguren, Cordero, Rey, Machimbarrena, Alvarez,
        De Miguel, Bernabéu, Posada, Caruncho, Sansinenea

Overview of Finals



About this document

Prepared and maintained by José Vicente Tejedor Carnicero for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: José Vicente Tejedor Carnicero (
Last updated: 8 Feb 2000

(C) Copyright José Vicente Tejedor Carnicero and RSSSF 2000
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.